We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Delightful surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claytons and The Glasshouse

Claytons and The Glasshouse
Ranked #5 of 137 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Gastropub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Delightful surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2015

We travelled to Barnstaple from Somerset on Saturday and visited Claytons Glasshouse before going to the local theatre and what a delightful experience. The food was as good as I have ever tasted at a very reasonable price and the service was exceptional. I am already planning a return trip to the area to provide an excuses to eat there again - Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    81
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“awkward lunch date”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2015

I had seabass with some vegetables on a mash. It was well cooked. The service was good , there was an artist in making a picture something to watch when the conversation dried up !

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank surfercazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2015 via mobile

I've visited a lot in the past and it's been amazing but this visit was a real disappointment. One of the starters came out luke warm, we couldn't see the waiter so had to take it into the kitchen ourselves. My main was dripping in grease and the walnuts were burnt and when we got the bill we had other people's drinks on it, good job I looked! A real disappointment.

Helpful?
Thank Phillipa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Birthday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2015

Me and my wive are on holiday from bournemouth and we asked in one of the shops if they could recomend anywhere to eat clay tons glasshouse IT was .very nice,good service,good food and not exspesive..I had the posh fish finger. Sand wich will go again

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jason t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Its just ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2015

Went with friends. Barnstaple has a dearth of quality eating places at the moment, and several fairly average ones.
This fits into the 'average' category. It's OK, nothing more.
Vegetarian choices limited and uninspiring.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank veggiebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claytons and The Glasshouse also viewed

 

Been to Claytons and The Glasshouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing