We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect get away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bulworthy Forest Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnstaple
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bulworthy Forest Lodges
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My girlfriend and i stayed in the Woodpecker lodge, straight away we were over the moon with the setting and the lodge itself. perfect for a week away from it all, great for couples, the lodge was well equipped and felt really cosy.
The Beach is only a few miles away and you have all the shops you need in the local towns, we particularly liked the local tennis club.
We will definitely like to come back, for another holiday and i'd recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet week away to recharge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hoos93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My fiancee and I shared a long bank holiday weekend here from that he'd booked as a romantic surprise. It was stunning. The surrounding forest is so tranquil you forget that you are 15 minutes drive to the nearest seafront town and you become lost in the wilderness

You have all the basics you could want for a self catering break and we enjoyed the seclusion as well as the privacy. We can't wait to come back here but I really don't think anyone else should come...you almost certainly won't enjoy your stay and the less people that know about this beautifully sculpted forest hideaway the better in my opinion ;-))

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I have just returned from a weekend break, catching up with family at these beautiful Forest Lodges. Had read that the lodges were really difficult to find, but with the downloadable map they send you, we had no problems at all. We arrived and went straight to our Lodge (Foxglove) as arranged with the owners.... Wow.. Firstly, immaculately clean and HUGE... There were 6 of us travelling and plenty of room to relax. The lodges are really well equipped and lovely and warm. Within a couple of hours of arriving Geoff came to greet us (the Owner) to explain how to work our Hot Tub... Lovely man who made us feel extremely welcome, he explained everything and left us to it. The forest is beautiful and there are some lovely forest walks with amazing views. Our hot tub was checked every morning by Geoff and on the second morning we were treated to a visit from 24 hour old lambs which he bought up to show us ;). Everything about the break was lovely, we cant wait to book again... Thank you Geoff, if you are reading this, we all had a fabulous time :) These lodges are literally in the middle of a firest and therefore Mobile Phone service is VERY limited although i was always able to call home to check everything was ok whenever i needed to and the lodges don't offer Wifi...... for us this was a welcomed break away from normality... some may see this as a negative but actually i enjoyed not receiving the 105 emails i had accumulated.
If you are looking for a short break away from the hustle and bustle, in beautiful surroundings, a well equipped lodge and great value for money... then book here....We had an amazing time

Room Tip: We stayed in Foxglove, 3 bedroomed Lodge is a fabulous location with HotTub on the Veranda . With th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tashajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was our 7th year of staying here and our 2nd Christmas. Not much I can say that hasn't already been said but it is a truly lovely place to stay - we did a week over Christmas again and it was the perfect way to spend the holidays away from the hustle and bustle of life!
In total there was 17 of us staying in 3 cabins, we stayed in the Bluebell which is by far our most favourite yet. Seriously I could sell up and live in this! It is equipped with possibly everything you could want and more (loved the dishwasher as don't have one at home!) and being cold in the cabins is never an issue as they just seem to hold the heat really well. On the down side, yes the sofas have all seen better days and could do with replacing but saying that who needs a sofa when you have a hot tub and beautiful surroundings.
Geoff who owes it is great every morning he comes and checks on the hot tub (even xmas morning!) and he isn't intrusive in fact most of the time you never knew he was there.
On arrival we all had real Christmas trees waiting for us which I LOVED! (even though I had carted my own fake one with us!) its these little touches that don't go unnoticed and make this the place it is.

My only worry is now that if I say too many good things about it EVERYONE will want to go and we wont get Bluebell!!!! its ok we're not going this year but shall be returning in 2015 so be warned lol!!!

But seriously this is a fantastic location for anyone who wants to get away from busy life and just enjoy the time unwinding, we have only ever stayed at Christmas or Spring but I bet Summer is just amazing there x

Room Tip: Both doubles are spacious but I think the en suite is slightly smaller!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyBass333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night break at this lodge well what can I say it was amazing situated right in the forest beautiful surrounding a number of different lakes for a novice fisherman not too far from bideford where u can get all the essentials the lodge it's self was spotlessly clean and had everything u needed we stayed in foxglove which was right up at the top so was even quieter it had a fridge freezer washing machine and dish washer the hot tub was amazing too and was cleaned and checked every day would love to return in the near future (family 2 adults and 3 children) the place that was worth a visit was exmouth zoo a lovely zoo with very friendly staff price was good as u get to feed and pet wallabies included where most places would have an additional charge for that type of experience :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly4185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay, the lodge was extremely well equipped with appliances etc, and was very warm. Would recommend this location if you want peace and quiet

The lodge was quite large and comfortable, the only thing I would recommend is that you take your own bath towels as the ones supplied were not very large..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here last year, the location was absolutely beautiful! The lodge was clean warm and very well kitted out. We played archery at a local place not far down the road and there are loads of lovely Country pubs. Really don't have anything bad to say about it, it was perfect!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNewman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
11.5 mi away
Mullacott Park
Mullacott Park
#9 of 26 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
14.0 mi away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#4 of 8 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Ruby Country Lodge Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cedars Inn
Cedars Inn
#1 of 3 in Sticklepath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bulworthy Forest Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulworthy Forest Lodges

Property: Bulworthy Forest Lodges
Address: Alvderdiscott, Barnstaple, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Barnstaple
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Bulworthy Forest Hotel Barnstaple
Bulworthy Forest Lodges Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing