We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful relaxing retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnstaple
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bulworthy Forest Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Wonderful relaxing stay,beautiful clean and quiet.We stayed for a long weekend 31st may '14 in Chestnut lodge with covered hot tub. Accommodation was fantastic,huge 3 bed lodge with washing machine,tumble dryer and dish washer.Beds made for arrival which were very comfortable and towels supplied.You will need a car as about 5 miles from Bideford,no shop on site There's also large lakes which you can fish in but you have to bring your own fishing equipment. Each lodge comes with a brick bbq and ours was next to a bench and the Jacuzzi which meant we could all sit outside and have a lovely evening together. Lodge was kept very clean, owner even came around on our arrival to greet us and clean the jacuzzi! We had four tv's in Chestnut, 3 with dvd players & numerous channels, very suprised to have 4 tv's. .Would highly recommend if your looking for a peaceful break away from it all.Lovely, would defiantly recommend.

Room Tip: Chestnut was one of the larger lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serenaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

My girlfriend and i stayed in the Woodpecker lodge, straight away we were over the moon with the setting and the lodge itself. perfect for a week away from it all, great for couples, the lodge was well equipped and felt really cosy.
The Beach is only a few miles away and you have all the shops you need in the local towns, we particularly liked the local tennis club.
We will definitely like to come back, for another holiday and i'd recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet week away to recharge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hoos93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My fiancee and I shared a long bank holiday weekend here from that he'd booked as a romantic surprise. It was stunning. The surrounding forest is so tranquil you forget that you are 15 minutes drive to the nearest seafront town and you become lost in the wilderness

You have all the basics you could want for a self catering break and we enjoyed the seclusion as well as the privacy. We can't wait to come back here but I really don't think anyone else should come...you almost certainly won't enjoy your stay and the less people that know about this beautifully sculpted forest hideaway the better in my opinion ;-))

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I have just returned from a weekend break, catching up with family at these beautiful Forest Lodges. Had read that the lodges were really difficult to find, but with the downloadable map they send you, we had no problems at all. We arrived and went straight to our Lodge (Foxglove) as arranged with the owners.... Wow.. Firstly, immaculately clean and HUGE... There were 6 of us travelling and plenty of room to relax. The lodges are really well equipped and lovely and warm. Within a couple of hours of arriving Geoff came to greet us (the Owner) to explain how to work our Hot Tub... Lovely man who made us feel extremely welcome, he explained everything and left us to it. The forest is beautiful and there are some lovely forest walks with amazing views. Our hot tub was checked every morning by Geoff and on the second morning we were treated to a visit from 24 hour old lambs which he bought up to show us ;). Everything about the break was lovely, we cant wait to book again... Thank you Geoff, if you are reading this, we all had a fabulous time :) These lodges are literally in the middle of a firest and therefore Mobile Phone service is VERY limited although i was always able to call home to check everything was ok whenever i needed to and the lodges don't offer Wifi...... for us this was a welcomed break away from normality... some may see this as a negative but actually i enjoyed not receiving the 105 emails i had accumulated.
If you are looking for a short break away from the hustle and bustle, in beautiful surroundings, a well equipped lodge and great value for money... then book here....We had an amazing time

Room Tip: We stayed in Foxglove, 3 bedroomed Lodge is a fabulous location with HotTub on the Veranda . With th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tashajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was our 7th year of staying here and our 2nd Christmas. Not much I can say that hasn't already been said but it is a truly lovely place to stay - we did a week over Christmas again and it was the perfect way to spend the holidays away from the hustle and bustle of life!
In total there was 17 of us staying in 3 cabins, we stayed in the Bluebell which is by far our most favourite yet. Seriously I could sell up and live in this! It is equipped with possibly everything you could want and more (loved the dishwasher as don't have one at home!) and being cold in the cabins is never an issue as they just seem to hold the heat really well. On the down side, yes the sofas have all seen better days and could do with replacing but saying that who needs a sofa when you have a hot tub and beautiful surroundings.
Geoff who owes it is great every morning he comes and checks on the hot tub (even xmas morning!) and he isn't intrusive in fact most of the time you never knew he was there.
On arrival we all had real Christmas trees waiting for us which I LOVED! (even though I had carted my own fake one with us!) its these little touches that don't go unnoticed and make this the place it is.

My only worry is now that if I say too many good things about it EVERYONE will want to go and we wont get Bluebell!!!! its ok we're not going this year but shall be returning in 2015 so be warned lol!!!

But seriously this is a fantastic location for anyone who wants to get away from busy life and just enjoy the time unwinding, we have only ever stayed at Christmas or Spring but I bet Summer is just amazing there x

Room Tip: Both doubles are spacious but I think the en suite is slightly smaller!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyBass333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night break at this lodge well what can I say it was amazing situated right in the forest beautiful surrounding a number of different lakes for a novice fisherman not too far from bideford where u can get all the essentials the lodge it's self was spotlessly clean and had everything u needed we stayed in foxglove which was right up at the top so was even quieter it had a fridge freezer washing machine and dish washer the hot tub was amazing too and was cleaned and checked every day would love to return in the near future (family 2 adults and 3 children) the place that was worth a visit was exmouth zoo a lovely zoo with very friendly staff price was good as u get to feed and pet wallabies included where most places would have an additional charge for that type of experience :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly4185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay, the lodge was extremely well equipped with appliances etc, and was very warm. Would recommend this location if you want peace and quiet

The lodge was quite large and comfortable, the only thing I would recommend is that you take your own bath towels as the ones supplied were not very large..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barnstaple hotels
5.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
710 reviews
5.5 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,390 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cedars Inn
Cedars Inn
#1 of 3 in Sticklepath
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Broomhill Art Hotel
Broomhill Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Muddiford
349 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,667 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Spinney Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bulworthy Forest Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulworthy Forest Lodges

Address: Alvderdiscott, Barnstaple, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Barnstaple
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Bulworthy Forest Hotel Barnstaple
Bulworthy Forest Lodges Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing