We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A good hotel central to the town with some parking available. The staff are friendly, efficient and eager to help and our room was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the shower could only be used as a hand held device as it was low down the wall, so had a bath. We had a cooked breakfast which was good. Overall I would recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Petal1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Royal & Fortescue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you found our staff friendly and efficient, as customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves upon, as is cleanliness so again I'm gratified that you found your rooms clean and comfortable. I'm sorry that the shower was so low, I will pass your comments onto our maintenance team and hope the problem can be rectified. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Fortescue in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

we stayed at the hotel royal fortescue Barnstaple on January the 8th 2014 it was extremely good lovely accommodation extremely helpful ;staff lovely cooked breakfast which ih was served by a waitress. Everyone was so nice the hotel was so clean I could not fault the hotel in any way.

Room Tip: not near the high st
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

lovely hotel professional and very friendly staff food good we will return was noisy Saturday night but given the location it was expected rooms very comfortable and clean décor reasonable very good value for money

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillianj776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Welcomed by the very efficient staff on reception and directed to a spotlessly clean and comfortable room. We thought it could be noisy due to the number of people in the town on a Saturday night, but heard nothing once in our room. Thoroughly nice hotel and staff. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troggfan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed only one night, a Saturday night. The hotel was full with 2 birthday parties, that made us think it was going to be noisy, quite the contrary. The room was well furnished, well maintained and very clean. The ensuite bathroom was spotless.
We had lunch in the Bank Bistro, and the food was absolutely gorgeous!! We highly recommend it.
The breakfast was beautifully presented and the food to a high standard.
The one minor criticism is the lack of parking spaces, but the staff were very helpful and will do all they can to make space.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Royal & Fortescue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed eating both in the bistro and your breakfast. I am also glad that you found your bedroom to be of a high standard, as housekeeping is something that we pride ourselves on, as is the maintenance and decor of our rooms. I understand that in common with many town centre hotels, parking can be an issue, but we always aim to be able to park cars, either in the hotel car park, or in our lock up garage. Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I found the royal and fortescue a very relaxing place to stay with a very good and professional team of staff, my only critism is that waiting staff should serve ladies first whilst dining.
Rooms are very well equipped with modern decor and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bullybeef72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Royal & Fortescue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and I will pass your comments on to the staff as positive feedback is always appreciated. I hope to welcome you back to the Fortescue in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

been to this lovely hotel many times returned early January myself ,wife and daughter hotel was very quiet,but was its usual clean, warm and charming hotel on the Saturday night there was a party in the main restaurant so those staying at the hotel the evening meal was served in the Italian restaurant which was a bit disappointing,a few of the regular staff were still working at the hotel who gave us a good welcome once more,the room we had on the second floor was spoilt by the bathroom which I did not complain about at the time, so I wont complain now all in all wehad a good stay although there was something missing this time,

Room Tip: the rooms at the front do get noisey at the weekends but you do get a good view of the night life,av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonySWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Royal & Fortescue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad that we could show you a warm welcome and that you found that the hotel was still its charming self. I'm sorry to hear that there was a problem with your bathroom, and regret that we could not have done anything about it during your stay. I hope to welcome you to the Royal and Fortescue again in the near future, when I hope we can be up to the standard of your previous visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
710 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,870 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal & Fortescue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal & Fortescue Hotel

Address: 61 Boutport Street, Barnstaple EX31 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range: £63 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal & Fortescue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal & Fortescue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal And Fortescue Barnstaple
Royal & Fortescue Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing