We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best holiday cottage I've ever stayed in!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Marsh Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ShammyC
Cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best holiday cottage I've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wow this place really ticked every box for a family gathering. Every detail had been thought of and catered for. Beautiful and so well equipped. Would definitely stay here again. Perfect for anyone with children from babies to teens. Everything you could possibly need. And lots of space. The games snug was brilliant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it and had a good break. Please do come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JNeesam
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best holiday cottage we have ever rented”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage is just wonderful. It has everything you could possibly need for your holiday, even bowls for our dog. It is always perfectly clean and welcoming. Our grandchildren, aged 11 and 7 love the toys and the garden where they can play games. If there are any problems the caretaker is very quick to sort it out. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and is dealt with quickly. This year was our 6th visit to this beautiful cottage and we have already booked for 2017. It is a good base to explore North Devon from and there is plenty to do there. The beach at Instow is not far and the children enjoy taking Pepper, our dog, with them to play. The Big Sheep and the Milky Way are also a good day out, but we also like the museums in Barnstaple and Ilfracombe. There is nothing that we dislike about this cottage except having to leave at the end of our holiday, but next time will be here soon. It is a real home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review! It a pleasure to welcome you back year after year for your fortnight in Devon. Thank you for booking for your 7th year! Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B
1 review
“Superb stay, highly recommended”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in late July with four children and they loved every minute of being in North Devon. The cottage was faultless, being very clean throughout, comfortable and having hidden extras such as wine and fresh milk on arrival and a garden shed full of children's toys and beach equipment. We will definitely be staying again. Thanks for a relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ease of travel to beaches and towns
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
Thanks Tom! I'm glad you had a such a wonderful stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchy14...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderfully relaxing cottage - a home from home”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I visited Marsh cottage with my wife, our two children and mother in law. With ages ranging from 6 to 60 it was great to find somewhere that suited all ages. The cottage itself is beautfiully decorated and it is clear that the owners have really taken the time to think about its visitiors and what they may want. From games for the children to picnic baskets and cool bags for days out, it had many extra touches that made it a true home from home. My overriding thought was that this felt like somewhere the owner would stay themselves as thats the standard it had been furnished to. Near enough to the coast but far enough away to escape the hustle and bustle to complete relaxation and peace. I simply cannot recommend this enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Thank you for this excellent review. We are always trying to make our guests feel at home - and I'm glad we have achieved this with you. I look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laëtitia...
France
1 review
“Great for a family with children !”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The house is perfect : cosy, big enough, well equiped, kids friendly and confortable. We were a family of 7 and all of us were delighted. We could easily imagine living there forever ! It was very clean and we were welcomed with fresh flowers, a bottle of wine and a guest book.
There's nothing bad to say about Marsh Cottage and the owner ! A very friendly person who did her best to satisfy us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The kitchen, the playroom with toys and board games
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Merci! I hope you had a safe journey home. Always welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“If Carlsberg did holiday cottages, they would be like this one.”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I have taken my family to many holiday rentals and this is one of the best we have found.
You could move in permanently and want for nothing, including WiFi that works.
Spotless and clean, the gardener and cleaner are obviously on top of their game and Claire the owner was a pleasure to deal with.
There are a few steps up to the cottage which my elderly in laws had to take their time with but if you're staying in rural Devon what do you expect?
You won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you Gary! Great comments. I look forward to welcoming you for longer next time!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GARRY S
Perton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed at Marsh Cottage for 4 nights in April. Far exceeded expectations in every way very much a luxury home from home with a lovely garden. Very dog friendly. The cottage had everything you might need for a relaxing holiday including kid's toys and all home comforts. Owner was really friendly and helpful. Would love to return some day

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Thanks Garry. I hope next time you visit the weather will be better for you to use the Chimnea!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing