We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A National Trust Jewel in the Crown”

Arlington Court and the National Trust Carriage Museum
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A National Trust Jewel in the Crown”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My wife and our friends whilst staying in Shirwell, Barnstaple in North Devon, visited the National Trust estate at Arlington Court. Together with visiting the Carriage Museum was for us a highly recommended day out. The grounds alone are so beautifully kept and whilst we had the benefit of lovely warm sunshine during our visit had the opportunity to explore the splendour of the House and the history attached to the grand carriages in the Museum. Of course the staff were helpful and very informative. We couldn't leave without a visit to the Old Kitchen Tea Room for a Devon Cream Tea. Unfortunately there was insufficient seating outside so we ate inside. It was a busy Tea Room, and some of the staff members looked a little overwhelmed. It's certainly a place to return to and we have vowed to return as soon as we are able. Congratulations to the staff who manage and maintain these amazing places. We missed out on seeing the Bat Cam Room, but this will come top of the list on our next visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnthonywNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    251
    32
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful afternoon”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Started with lunch in the tea rooms which was gorgeous, we had the lamb burgers, so filling! Beautiful wonder around the house and carriages, looking forward to a return visit to finish the gardens and walks

Helpful?
Thank razorjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyable garden and walks as well as a bit of history”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Despite visiting on a damp day, this outdoor attraction was beautiful and very enjoyable (with an umbrella and wellies). The Carriage museum was interesting and the gardens very relaxing. There are a number of walks of different lengths and difficulty to spend hours exploring. The cafe caters for gluten free and dairy free diets (at least in the cakes, were too late for a proper lunch).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great day out for all the family”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

we had great day inthe Devon country side .The house and stable buildingvery intresting.we liked all the carages including the golden coach we allso built a fine camp in the woods .we are going again. soon

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good day out”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a lovely visit to Arlington Court on Sunday. The weather wasn't fantastic but we still enjoyed our day. The walk down to the bottom pond is worth the short walk to hear nothing but the leaves blowing and the birds singing. A visit to the tearoom for a cream tea to round the day off was also welcome. The huge array of coaches are an amazing sight and have been thoughtfully restored and lovingly looked after. I did like the new conservatory as it is a mirror image of the old one but cost an awful amount of money to replace, much the same as all National Trust repairs. Safe to say we will return again as we have done for the past 20 years. Worth every penny of the modest entrance fee and cheaper than most National Trust Properties in the South West.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank heather43Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arlington Court and the National Trust Carriage Museum also viewed

 
Muddiford, Barnstaple
 

Been to Arlington Court and the National Trust Carriage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing