We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Few days in N Devon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Few days in N Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed for two nights at the Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple and would be difficult to fault it. Staff were so helpful, friendly and attentive. Food was excellent. Since my last stay in a Brenda Hotel the Victoria, Sidmouth they have seen the light and Wifi is now included free of charge throughout the hotel - well done.
Will try more of their hotels if they are all like this. They have got the formula right.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank coptheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Many thanks for your glowing review of The Imperial Hotel following your recent 2 night stay with us.
I am delighted that you felt the staff were 'friendly and efficient' and that our food was to a very high standard.
Your comments regarding our hard working staff are very much appreciated and be assured that your review will be placed on our review board for them all to see.
Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    272
    67
    19
    8
See reviews for
223
845
52
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is another excellent Hotel in the Brend chain, which we have patronised for about 20 years,but first time at this Hotel.A beautiful hotel with lovely public rooms and excellant food.
The only drawback was being on the 3rd floor. These rooms are well appointed,but not well soundproofed.You can hear the conversation of the residents in adjoining rooms.Avoid the third floor!

Room Tip: As above, I would avoid the top floor,rooms 300 onwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chris46Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
okehampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The room was immaculate although quite small but big enough for one. Everything was very clean and tidy. Staff were very helpful and polite. Very well placed for the town centre. Would definitely go back for another stay but would look out for a special offer as the standard price is a little high.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markdmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

the rooms and staff and service are great but could do with some rooms having walk in showers so if u can't step into the bath . we came for a weekend but my dad who has parkinsons couldn't shower all weekend

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaschofield843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We were so pleased with the service at the Imperial, the staff were on point and couldnt do more to make our stay comfortable. The breakfast was simply excellent, and the waiting staff were flawless, the interior is comfortable and beautifully decorated, use of the sister hotel's spa facilities is a perk. The only thing I would recommend is to improve the whiskey selection behind the bar.
This hotel is perfectly placed on the waterfront and a hop, skip and jump into the centre. It also benefits from generous parking facilities and makes the best of a traffic control system, as you can avoid the rush hour traffic and drive straight into the hotel while the non restricted roads nearby are busy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank s d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I and 4 members of my family recently stayed at the Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple.
We were attending my Mother's funeral and needed somewhere to stay for one night that was not going to be really expensive. The Imperial delivered 100% with their special offer twin rooms for 60 pounds a night including full breakfast! We could not find anything else to beat that! With that went a late check in (we didm;t arrive from London until 11.00pm), the comfort of enjoying a nightcap together in the comfortable lobby, and the kind and attentive service we received from all the staff.
Thanks Imperial Hotel for making a few hours of that sad trip really happy and memorable. We will come again in happier times.
Vera S

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

A Grand Hotel which has been updated and still retains its grandeur. This was a most enjoyable experience, enhanced by the helpfulness of the staff, the wonderful ambience generated by an Edwardian atmosphere, but with all the mod cons one has come to expect from a four star rated hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a central location but is 'quiet'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am particularly pleased that you found the hotel had a friendly atmosphere and that the staff are very professional in their work.
Your comments regarding our staff members are particularly pleasing and be assured that they will be passed on in our weekly meetings as well as being placed on our review board for all staff to see.

Thank you once again and I hope we can welcome you back for another enjoyable stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
0.9 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
9.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: The Imperial Taw Vale Parade, Barnstaple EX32 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple, North Devon, is part of the prestigious Brend chain of West Country hotels. Overlooking the River Taw at the heart of the market town of Barnstaple, this exceptional four-star hotel combines old-style charm with the highest standards of comfort and service. Whether you're looking for a family holiday or a peaceful break, the Imperial is the place for superb service. The hotel is also a popular venue for conferences, banquets and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Barnstaple
The Imperial Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing