We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class!”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Have stayed here before and wiill definitely stay again. The hotel has tasteful and traditional decor and is a two minute walk from the town centre. The bedrooms are extremely clean and comfortable and the staff are welcoming and friendly. We didn't use the restaurant this time but the food we ate in the bistro was delicious!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Imperial Hotel and may I also thank you for your repeat custom within the Imperial Hotel.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found all aspects 'first class',
especially the dining experience you recieved in our Bistro. But it is most pleasing to read how much you enjoyed the food served to you and the friendliness of our team of staff.

Your comments are very much appreciated and be assured that your review will be placed on our review board for them all to see.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,246 - 1,252 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

This time we splashed out on a 2-night visit. Despite rather dull rainy weather, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel in all respects. The food is truly marvellous and plentiful - the roast beef was the most succulent I have ever tasted and the chef certainly knows how to cook vegetables - nice and moist and not undercooked, like so many modern restaurants. Breakfast is also a treat, even though no criossants or cakes are provided (rather surprisingly). The staff are immaculately dressed and invariably polite and helpful. The hotel exudes charm and elegance and is very well maintained -somewhat reminiscent of a bygone era, especially since the clientelle are mainly elderly (like us!)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking side alleyways - rather dull and sometimes noise from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank spindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us once again and that you found the service of our staff to be of a very high standard; that is something we work hard to achieve.

It is particularly pleasing that you enjoyed the food, particularly the roast beef, put together by our hard working brigade of chefs.

With regards to the lack of croissants and cakes at breakfast, we do offer a 'bakers basket' with croissants, danish pastries and rolls. This may have been overlooked if the menu wasn't read.

I am particularly pleased that you found the hotel had a friendly atmosphere and that the staff are very professional and friendly in their work. I will be sure to place this review on our 'review board' for all to see.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back once more in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We picked the Imperial because we had stayed at one of the Brend groups sister hotel in Sidmouth, The Belmont (this was excellent).

The Imperial is an excellent hotel whose staff are very polite and helpful, our room was very clean and warm.

The restaurant was also excellent, make sure you are hungry, and the waiters are pro-active in clearing tables.

The hotel is also only a 2 minute walk to Barnstaple town centre, lots of lovely shops and the famous pannier market .We have no hesitation in recommending The Imperial as a quality hotel.

Mark & Johanne Doodson. Telford. Shropshire.

Room Tip: Find the extra money and go for a river side room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank markdoodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the service of our staff to be of a very high standard, together with excellent food and comfortable accomodation.

I am also delighted that you found the hotels location perfect for visiting the local shops and famous Pannier Market. Barnstaple is a thriving market town and the ideal place for some retail therapy with plenty of independent shops and more well known names.

It is also pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay so much you would recommend us to other travellers.

Your review will be placed on our review board for our hard working team to read.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Lovely hotel and lovely staff. We had a smallish room but easily had enough room for both our luggage and a lovely bathroom with nice products. Good shower and perfect quiet night's sleep. We were surprised to read about the dress code for dinner but had eaten already so that was lucky as we only had t-shirts etc. Nice TV and absolutely everything we needed.

Room Tip: we did not have a view (only another building nearby) but had not paid for expensive rooms so didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah1234562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am particularly pleased that you found the hotel lovely and that the staff were lovely.

It's also pleasing to hear that you found the room and particularly the bathroom, to be of a high standard and that you had perfect quiet nights sleep.

With regards to the dress code, we endeavour to ensure all guests are told of this on confirmations however the booking is made. The dress code however is not strict 'jacket and tie', it is 'smart casual' with no 'jeans, trainers, t-shirts or sportswear'.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This sounds petty, but my only one criticism of the Imperial would be the paper napkins at breakfast. Everything else is perfect. It's immaculately clean, it's a stylish very upmarket hotel but welcoming at the same time. The staff are friendly and conduct themselves in a professional manner at all times. Would I stay there again ? Yes, without hesitation. I look forward to trying the other hotels within the Brend group.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lordnethercot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Imperial Hotel

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found all aspects 'perfect'.

Of all your welcoming feedback, the praise put on our hard working staff is most pleasing to read and I will be sure to place this on our 'review board' for all to see.

Again thank you for your positive review and I do hope we can welcome you back to The Imperial very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

my wife and I spent 3 days at this superb hotel. Everything was to our liking, the food, the staff and our room. We always enjoy Brend hotels but consider the Imperial the best of all. One or two people did not observe the evening dress code which perhaps could be insisted upon. The saturday evening singer in the dining room was also first class. all in all faultless.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review of The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found all aspects 'first class' and that consider the Imperial to be best in the group.

With regards to the dress code, we do have a rule of 'jacket and tie preferred' with smart casual accepted but no jeans, trainers, t-shirts or sportswear. Being in a commercial town we find that smart casual allows business guests that stay and dress formally all day can at least dress down a little for dinner.

Your comments regarding Pete Fry our Saturday singer will be passed on this weekend.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back once more in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My stay was short & sweet and most enjoyable. Ideal location for my work at the North Devon Leisure Centre & The Tarka Tennis Centre in my role as a sports journalist & photographer. The food was excellent and all attention to detail was much appreciated. Staff warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TonyA1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

It is very pleasing that as a business traveller, you enjoyed your time at The Imperial and felt that our service was attentive as well as excellent food and warm and welcoming staff.

Your comments are very much appreciated and be assured that your review will be placed on our review board for them all to see.

Thank you again and I do hope to welcome you back to The Imperial Hotel again when visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Barnstaple
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,830 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
857 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: The Imperial Taw Vale Parade, Barnstaple EX32 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range: £87 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple, North Devon, is part of the prestigious Brend chain of West Country hotels. Overlooking the River Taw at the heart of the market town of Barnstaple, this exceptional four-star hotel combines old-style charm with the highest standards of comfort and service. Whether you're looking for a family holiday or a peaceful break, the Imperial is the place for superb service. The hotel is also a popular venue for conferences, banquets and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Barnstaple
The Imperial Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing