We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another memorable visit to the Imperial”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Reviewed 4 May 2014

It hardly seems to be 18 months since we were last at the Imperial. At first sight, nothing much has changed, everywhere is cleaned and polished, fresh flowers still in abundance. But checking in we discovered that our room had recently been refurbished to a very high standard. My wife who notices even the smallest details was hard put to find anything that could be improved. The staff were largely unchanged and the standard of service was, as usual, impeccable. The bar had also been refurbished although it was had to tell as it was exactly as before. The restaurant as always served a wide selection of excellent meals and our rate included Sunday lunch before we returned home. I would recommend this option if you get a chance. This hotel remains one of the best hotels in the south west of England and is well positioned to visit anywhere in North Devon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view of the river, but we had a superior room at the back which was excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front Office Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your review and for scoring us so highly.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us once again and you found the level of service impeccable.

You have touched upon many aspects, each in a positive manner and I am most pleased to hear you rate us one of the best hotels in the South West of England and well positioned to visit anywhere in North Devon.

Your comments are appreciated and be assured your review will be placed on our review board for all to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Food was WOW!! Service was excellent - they could not do enough for you.The position of the hotel was great in so much as it was by the river so there was a lovely long flat walk which went through a park too. Great for an after dinner stroll. The town was just around the corner which made it easy if you are on a coach and did not have your own transport. My only criticism was the floors creaked!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front Office Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple and for scoring us so highly.

I am most pleased that you found the hotel's location to be a great base for exploring.

Your comments regarding the food and the service from the staff are most pleasing to hear, and will be placed on our review board for all staff to see.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Four of us booked the special Easter break, staying for three nights from Friday April 18th. My wife and I had stayed there before in 2013 in the snow and rain and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We gave it such a good recommendation that our son and daughter in law came this time. None of us were disappointed - the Hotel provides first class service in all areas. All staff are on top of their jobs being friendly with a good rapport and always anxious to please The food was very varied, well cooked and served most attractively - what a superb chef. Over the weekend there were competitions which were much appreciated particularly as our group won three prizes ( sorry about this !). Last year we had a superior room but only a standard room this tear. It was quite comfortable but bathroom was small and the superior room would be well worth the extra money . All in all well recommended - only drawback is the tedious drive from Plymouth - Joan and David Williams

Room Tip: Superior room is well worth it New lift is quite handy for most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanandDave_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front Office Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel following your stay with us.

Firstly may I thank you for choosing to return to The Imperial, and for recommending us to other family members.

I am most pleased that once again you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you felt that the hotel provided a "first class service".

Your positive comments regarding the food and the staff will be placed on our review board for all staff to see.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Imperial in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have stayed at Brend Hotels in the past and have never been disappointed.....however, this one will certainly take some beating!! My husband and I stayed at The Imperial Hotel for five days, just after Easter, as our grand-child minding services were not required that week, due to holidays. We decided to take advantage of "our freedom" and, as we hadn't visited the North Devon Coast before, we chose the Imperial as our base for exploring the beautiful scenery in that area. From the moment we arrived we felt valued and found all the staff, without exception, to be friendly, helpful, attentive and very professional. The hotel was immaculate and our room, which had a 6ft wide bed, was modern, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food and service in the restaurant was truly first class and we really looked forward to the wonderful and varied delights, so expertly served up at both breakfast and dinner. Quite frankly, we could not fault any aspect of our stay and would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to visit North Devon and experience for themselves the high standards and mouth-watering fare offered at this superb first class hotel.

Room Tip: We found that the rooms with the "zip & link" beds offered a wonderfully large sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jenny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front Office Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time here with us, and that you found the hotel to be "first class".

You have touched upon many aspects, each in a positive manner, but it is most pleasing to hear how impressed you were with the restaurant service, and the friendliness of our team of staff as a whole.

Thank you again, and I hope to welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have stayed in both Superior rooms and Imperial rooms and would suggest that paying a little m ore for superior is well worth while if you prefer more space.We found ALL the staff very professional and most pleasing was the friendliness shown to everyone. The food choice and quality is excellent and the service is even better.The location of the Hotel is very good with the town and bus station so close, the train station being about 10 minutes away. We recommend that you book now before the management realise how good the hotel is and put the price up.(they wouldn"t dare until after our next visit) Mike and Joyce Moseley.

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in have been nicely decorated but the River view Superior was well worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jersey2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front Office Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Many thanks for your recent review following your Easter Break at The Imperial Hotel and those before.

I was glad to hear our Superior rooms lived up to expectation and you found them spacious in size.

It was especially pleasing to hear you found "ALL" the staff friendly and welcoming and that the service you received was of the highest standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Imperial hopefully at a good price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was our 7th stay at this excellent hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable, food is of a high standard with piping hot plates to keep the food warm, the service is exceptional. There is plentiful parking and the town centre is a couple of minutes walk away. The Imperial is a great place to base yourself for a stay in North Devon.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a good standard, we have stayed in both the standard and the superior rooms and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front Office Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel and also for your repeat custom.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel including the bedrooms, the food served on piping hot plates and the location to explore North Devon and the proximity of the town centre.

I find most pleasing that you feel the staff are "exceptional" as this is something we pride ourselves on and I will be sure to place this on our "review board" for all to see.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back for your 8th visit in the not to distance future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A lovely traditional hotel within great access to the northern coastline of Devon. The room was recently updated and was modern, comfortable with some really thoughtful touches. We where on a package that included food and I have to say the standard was exceptional, great choice and plenty of it. Watch out for the dining room make sure men have a shirt and smart trousers we missed this and it could have been embarrasing - no jeans even smart allowed however there is a bistro equally as nice with no dress code. Service was really good. Highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return,

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room definitely worth it and on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Squidge331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front Office Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your recent review and for scoring us so highly.
I am most pleased that you found the hotels location "great" for visiting the lovely Devon coastline.
As mentioned in your review many of our bedrooms have been recently refurbished and this is still an on going process.
We hope both the restaurant and Bistro provide a good dining experience which suits individual needs and I am glad to hear you found the service really good and would recommend The Imperial Hotel to others.
Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,324 reviews
7.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
571 reviews
9.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: The Imperial Taw Vale Parade, Barnstaple EX32 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range: £94 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple, North Devon, is part of the prestigious Brend chain of West Country hotels. Overlooking the River Taw at the heart of the market town of Barnstaple, this exceptional four-star hotel combines old-style charm with the highest standards of comfort and service. Whether you're looking for a family holiday or a peaceful break, the Imperial is the place for superb service. The hotel is also a popular venue for conferences, banquets and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Barnstaple
The Imperial Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing