We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$105
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)
US$107
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Barnstaple)
US$126
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)(Great Value!)
US$99
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)(Great Value!)
US$99
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
US$251
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durrant House(Bideford)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$112
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Bideford)(Great Value!)
US$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,731)
Filter reviews
1,731 results
Traveller rating
1,290
331
82
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,290
331
82
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the riverarlington restaurantfirst classbrend hotelsstandard roomdress codetraditional hotelhigh standardnothing is too much troubleexcellent foodshort breakbrend groupthird visitexcellent hotelthree nightsexcellent stayrelaxing break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,348 - 1,353 of 1,731 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights(first time) and found it very very nice. The staff were helpful and hotel was stunning including beautiful flowers. My room was lovely with a queen size bed. Bathroom was huge and plenty of hot water. I didn't eat in the restaurant but I did drink lots of coffee and it was lovely and well presented. The only fault I could find was that the mattress was slightly uncomfortable. I will def use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank darlingbohemiansvtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front Office Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple.

I am pleased to hear you found the staff helpful and the flowers "beautiful" we pride ourselves on the stunning arrangement we have at the hotel.

I am sorry to hear you found the mattress uncomfortable and please when you stay again if anything like this is of disappointed let us know and we can put it right whilst you are staying.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned from a stay at The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple. We found the staff exceptionally courteous, friendly and attentive. They all worked extremely well together. The food was of good quality and attention to detail was first class, a lot of thought went into the presentation of the food, what pleased the eye certainly pleased the pallete! The waiters/waitress's were all very professional (we even got a chorus from them along with the resident singer on Saturday night) Our room (305) was extremely clean and looked as though it had been refurbished. All in all a very successful stay, look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front Office Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

I am glad to hear you found the staff exceptionally courteous, friendly and attentive.

It is particularly pleasing that you enjoyed the presentation of the food and what pleased the eye pleased the palate, our chef's are very hard working and I will be sure to pass on these comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Imperial Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The room I booked was a little small ok for a one night stay,asked to be upgraded and got a bigger room which was lovely. Right near the town. Staff very helpful and welcoming would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front Office Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your review and the five star rating.

It is pleasing to hear we were able to upgrade you to a bigger room as requested and you found the staff helpful and welcoming.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Imperial Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

It hardly seems to be 18 months since we were last at the Imperial. At first sight, nothing much has changed, everywhere is cleaned and polished, fresh flowers still in abundance. But checking in we discovered that our room had recently been refurbished to a very high standard. My wife who notices even the smallest details was hard put to find anything that could be improved. The staff were largely unchanged and the standard of service was, as usual, impeccable. The bar had also been refurbished although it was had to tell as it was exactly as before. The restaurant as always served a wide selection of excellent meals and our rate included Sunday lunch before we returned home. I would recommend this option if you get a chance. This hotel remains one of the best hotels in the south west of England and is well positioned to visit anywhere in North Devon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view of the river, but we had a superior room at the back which was excellent
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front Office Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your review and for scoring us so highly.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us once again and you found the level of service impeccable.

You have touched upon many aspects, each in a positive manner and I am most pleased to hear you rate us one of the best hotels in the South West of England and well positioned to visit anywhere in North Devon.

Your comments are appreciated and be assured your review will be placed on our review board for all to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Food was WOW!! Service was excellent - they could not do enough for you.The position of the hotel was great in so much as it was by the river so there was a lovely long flat walk which went through a park too. Great for an after dinner stroll. The town was just around the corner which made it easy if you are on a coach and did not have your own transport. My only criticism was the floors creaked!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Front Office Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple and for scoring us so highly.

I am most pleased that you found the hotel's location to be a great base for exploring.

Your comments regarding the food and the service from the staff are most pleasing to hear, and will be placed on our review board for all staff to see.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews