We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Coventry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Another wonderful stay. Excellent service from first class staff, once again will not mention any one in particular as everyone is equal in the service they give to guests. See you all in August, when we know that it will once again be the same quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatisfiedCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of The Imperial Hotel after staying with us.

Your comments regarding our hardworking staff are very much appreciated and be assured that your review will be placed on our review board for them all to see.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Imperial Hotel
again in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,086
    285
    67
    19
    8
See reviews for
229
863
53
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The staff are very friendly,and always remember us.Food is absolutely delicious! Just a couple of small points to make.It would be nice if the bar stayed open for cash rounds a bit later.,on our last stay,we felt a bit unconfortable because we were the last ones to leave,and felt the bar staff were waiting for us to go. Also,if the cleaners could leave tea tray,glass by bed etc where they are left,rather that putting everything away! Even so,we WILL be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay at The Imperial Hotel and may I also thank you for your repeat custom.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us once again and that you found the service of our staff to be of a very high standard; that is something we strive for!. It's also excellent to here that your found our food to be absolutely delicious.

Please be assured that your two minor negative points will be taken on board and looked in to.

Your comments regarding our food quality & staff are great to hear, and be assured they will be passed on both through our Heads of Department meetings & review board.

I hope to welcome you back to The Imperial Hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The team at the Imperial are fantastic - very helpful and certainly very polite. A real credit to the Brend family, management and training. Food in the restaurant was exceptional especially the Al La Carte. Looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give such a positive review The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am particularly pleased that you found the staff are very helpful and professional in their work.
It is also great to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with us here at The Imperial; this is something we pride ourselves on so comments such as these are very much appreciated, particularly by our team of chefs.

I hope to welcome you back again for another enjoyable stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just come back from a 2night stay at this hotel. I must say all the staff were very helpful. The only thing I would say is the decor is old fashioned needs to be updated. Food in bistro really good but a little expensive.

Room Tip: We were booked into a standard room, when we arrived and went to the room we were not happy, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple.

I am delighted that you felt the staff were all very helpful and that our food, served in the Bistro, was to a high standard.

I was dissapointed to here that you found the hotel's decor old fashioned. As with the traditional style of the Grade 2 listed building we always endeavour to keep to a more traditional design with a contempary twist as reflected with our current refurbishment programme.
This programme is on-going and after completing 6 more bedrooms this autumn we are looking forward to refurbishing many more in the new year.

Thank you again and I do hope to welcome you back to The Imperial Hotel again when visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

As regular visitors, we were looking forward to our stay, and again were not disappointed. The staff, the Director, Managers, reception, front-of-house, restaurant and those who serviced our room are friendly, attentive and nothing is too much trouble for them; the Brend Hotels in-house training scheme is obviously working very well. Our room, refurbished in January when we were the first to use it, was very comfortable. The food, a credit to the kitchens, is wonderful; plentiful, well-presented and effeciently and attentively served. Great value for top quality. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael48J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay at The Imperial Hotel and may I also thank you for your repeat custom.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everyone to be friendly and attentive.

Of all your welcoming feedback, the praise put on our hard working staff is most pleasing to read and I will be sure to place this on our 'review board' for all to see.

It is also great to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with us here at The Imperial; this is something we pride ourselves on so comments such as these are very much appreciated, particularly by our team of chefs.

Thank you again for your glowing review and I hope to welcome you back to The Imperial Hotel once more in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We've just spent four wonderful days at the Imperial Hotel. As usual the accommodation was first class, the food excellent, and the staff wonderful. One of the best things is that the staff are always the same and it's like meeting old friends when you walk in. Looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us once again and that you found the service of our staff and food to be of a very high standard. It is also greatly appreciated that you commented on seeing the same staff time after time, this is something that is very often commented on by many of our regular guests.

Your comments regarding our hard working staff members across all departments are lovely to read, and be assured these will be passed on to them via our 'review board' located in our staff room.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back once more to The Imperial Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This is the first time I have stayed at this wonderful hotel.
The staff are really friendly and the food is amazing and the service in the restaurant was excellent comparable to the Savoy in London. If you want somewhere to stay that is a bit more special then the Imperial Hotel is the place for you.
Can't wait to go back
Well done

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyKentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review of The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

You have touched upon many aspects, each in a very positive manner, but it is most pleasing to read how much you enjoyed the food served to you and the friendliness of our team of staff.
To read that The Imperial Hotel is 'comparable to The Savoy' was excellent.

Your comments regarding our hardworking staff are very much appreciated and be assured that your review will be placed on our review board for them all to see.

Again thank you for your positive review and I do hope we can welcome you back to The Imperial Hotel for another visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
9.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: The Imperial Taw Vale Parade, Barnstaple EX32 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple, North Devon, is part of the prestigious Brend chain of West Country hotels. Overlooking the River Taw at the heart of the market town of Barnstaple, this exceptional four-star hotel combines old-style charm with the highest standards of comfort and service. Whether you're looking for a family holiday or a peaceful break, the Imperial is the place for superb service. The hotel is also a popular venue for conferences, banquets and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Barnstaple
The Imperial Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing