We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Barnstaple)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)(Great Value!)
US$81
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durrant House(Bideford)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,755)
Filter reviews
1,755 results
Traveller rating
1,310
334
83
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,310
334
83
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the riverarlington restaurantfirst classbrend hotelsstandard roomdress codetraditional hotelhigh standardnothing is too much troubleexcellent foodshort breakbrend groupthird visitexcellent hotelthree nightsexcellent stayrelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
1,325 - 1,330 of 1,755 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

from arriving to departing we were treated courteously by the staff, we ate nice food, drank nice wine. We showered under a lovely hot powerful shower and slept like logs in a most comfortable bed - the hotel is beautiful, it is immaculately clean and well kept and with all the things noted above being the most important to me - I am more than happy to pay the price for it.

We will definitely recommend this hotel and we will be looking forward to another visit sometime soon :o)

Room Tip: stay here if you want to be looked after well
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliel3762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Many thanks for your glowing review of The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you felt the staff were 'courteous' and that our food, wine, shower and bed was to a high standard. It is also appreciated that you would not hesitate to recommend The Imperial Hotel to others.

Thank you once again and I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we spent 3 nights here in March for our wedding anniversary. The hotel was ok from a furnishing and decor point of view - very traditional. Our room was overlooking the river and although pleasant it was not exceptional. We found the room to be very hot and the duvet very thick, and indeed asked for a sheet and blanket for our last night. The food in the restaurant for dinner was good but we found the portions to be over generous and we had to skip the dessert each night. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The nibbles served in the bar with our pre-dinner drinks were always the same - nuts, cheese and olives - for a 4* hotel to be offered a canape of a different type each evening would have been nice. The car park at the front of the hotel always seemed to be full necessitating the use of the rear car park. The lack of any surrounding garden area was a disappointment.

Room Tip: A river view room is not particularly good value as the view is ok but not exceptional.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wuwu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple.

I am most disappointed that on this occasion we were not able to provide you with a fully satisfactory stay with. Please accept my apologies for this. One of the points you have raised could so easily have been rectified sooner as the sheets and blankets to replace the duvet are always available if required.
In our Restaurant we are always happy to offer smaller portions to guests should they require. Thus allowing the dessert course room to be eaten.
With regards to the parking, space in the front car park is limited and it does fill quickly, but the main car park to the rear offers more than ample parking with very easy access to the hotel.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back once more in the not too distant future, where we can hopefully accommodate your needs better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A genuine first class hotel. From the moment we arrived to the time we left the staff catered for all our needs.They were courteous and friendly,Our room, overlooking the river, was very comfortable, clean,and nicely decorated. modern bathroom with good bath and shower.
All in all we had three superb days stay and would not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GORDON I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am particularly pleased that you found the hotel had a friendly atmosphere and that the staff are courteous and very professional in their work.

I hope to welcome you back to The Imperial again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent a weekend at this hotel with my son having seen good reviews on it.

Although the hotel was in good condition and well staffed, we were disappointed by a couple of issues.

The weather was good over the weekend and with no air conditioning the bedroom was exceedingly hot.

More annoying was that we were not informed prior to our visit that there was a dress code for the restaurant and therefore we were unable to eat dinner in the main restaurant. We were told this by the receptionist on arrival who was not particularly helpful in trying to find a solution apart from using the Bistro instead of the restaurant.

The Bistro turned out to be a rather small dingy room behind the bar and although the food was good, the location of the bistro did not enhance it.

We felt this level of service for a 4 star hotel was not great and we will not be using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side of the hotel back onto a road and do not have any views
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your recent review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple.

I am most disappointed that on this occasion we were not able to satisfy your dining requirements as well as we'd hope.

After looking into your booking I noted that you made your reservation on Booking.com, this sight does clearly state that their is a dress code for dinner in the Arlington Restaurant in the 'Fine Points' section below the 'Policies' section. The dress code would also have been stated on the confirmation sent to you by Booking.com.

I do hope you decide to visit us or another Brend Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the Imperial for the second time in junthe first time
was about six year a go.we found it was just as good the second
time as the first.
the hotel is first class the staff very polite and help full from the
cleaners to the bar staff and the waiters,
We had a very nice holiday thanks to all.

Room Tip: rooms and the back can be noisy in the morning as they face the one way street. but not to be put off.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews