We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful experience !”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our most recent stay at the Imperial Hotel was in April 2014 , as always a pleasure to arrive , always sorry to leave . We had a most comfortable room , enjoyed excellent food and drink and were situated very close to the centre of Barnstaple so very convenient for shopping . The Imperial Hotel is also a most convenient base from which to explore North Devon .Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Hotel Director at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Imperial Hotel following your return visit.

I am most pleased that the hotel came up to usual high standards and that as ever you found us a great base to explore all North Devon has to offer.

I hope we can welcome you back once more for another great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Friendly service, all the staff made the stay special. A large hotel but the room was quiet - couldn't hear any other guests. The food was good and lots of it - too much for us. Great location for local attractions - 5 minutes walk into Barnstaple - though not much there to see or do.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Hotel Director at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and have detailed so accordingly. It is particularly pleasing that you felt it worth it to stay in a front facing over the picturesque River Taw.

Thank you again and I do hope you return to The Imperial for another enjoyable break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed with our 4month old baby and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful! Lovely modern rooms & great food with a traditional Devon hotel feel. Highly recommended & we look forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaNBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Hotel Director at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased that you chose to stay with us with your 4 month old baby, and had an enjoyable experience; We always welcome the opportunity to accommodate families of all ages.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Lovely stay with my in-laws and children. The staff at the hotel couldn't be better, in particular Patrick, Elliott and Amy (I think that was her name, she had short dark hair).
The food was lovely as well as beautifully presented; and the chef was attentive to any extra requests.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank spfoster10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Hotel Director at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time at The Imperial Hotel and be assured your comments on many of our hard working restaurant team members will be passed on personally.

I hope to welcome you back to again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is well worth a visit. It is less than 2 minutes walk from Barnstaple town centre. We have stayed twice recently and the food and the overall service was excellent. Included in our 'package' was a jug of Pimms on arrival and a packed lunch on a day of our choice - which we had on our departure day.Our room was on the first floor and if we had to mention a minor quibble it was that when the door to the bar from the foyer was closing itself it rattled and vibrated up to our room. I am certain had we mentioned this it would have been sorted.
We will be returning - hopefully fairly soon.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are on the front, but if you cannot have one of these there is a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tubbs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Hotel Director at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel and for scoring us so highly.

It's great to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us on the Pimm's Upgrade package which was run for the first time this summer. I am also most pleased to hear of how you enjoyed the food & service offered by the hotel which is what we pride ourselves on.

Your comment regarding the main door vibrating to the room above has been taken on board and will be looked in to by our maintenance department to try and minimise the problem.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back once more in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Imperial standards throughout the hotel are of the highest quality, with great service and friendly staff. The food was absolutley fantastic and the service was exceptional throughout our 4 night stay. We are looking forward to trying other other Brend Hotels in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for room 215, it has two large sash windows overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Hotel Director at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Many thanks for your glowing review of The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am most glad that you felt the food and service offered to be of a very high standard, which Is something we always strive for.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back in the future on one of our very special offers sent to repeat guests like yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

When we travel either in uk or abroad we always try and stay in a 4 star. Our visit on this occasion was to attend a friends funeral, whose family infact held a light lunch after at the Imperial. We were very impressed with the Hotel, we found your members of staff that we had dealings with extremely friendly and very customer oriented. Our only disappointment was the double room that we were allocated (room 301) sorry to say was more like a single room with a double bed. Very disappointed, when checking out whilst complimenting the overall service we did mention the room situation to the receptionist. She apologised and said that on our next visit we should mention this when reserving and they would ensure that we were not allocated the same room. We look forward to your views and response. We must stress this is not a complaint but an observation. We also used your restaurant facilities at The Saunton Sands with some friends. What an amazing location.

Room Tip: We should have mentioned our disappointment of the size of room immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alfredwilding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Hotel Director at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel following your stay with us.

Firstly may I thank you for your comments on our staff members being extremely friendly and being impressed by the hotel in general

Please let me re-affirm what our reception team informed you that we have made a note in your profile to make sure you are not allocated this room again, as you were not quite satisfied with it. Due to the age & nature of the building the rooms to vary in size and layout, each having their own advantages as well as some minor flaws, but we feel this gives a unique character to the hotel. Please accept my apologies for your dissatisfaction with the room.

I am also most pleased that you enjoyed your day visit to our sister hotel, The Saunton Sands.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to welcome you back to The Imperial for another enjoyable break.


Be assured your comments will be taken on board and I have made a note on your profile that your preference is to stay in the main hotel if you were to book again, which I very much hope you do.

Thank you again and please accept my apologies for the bedroom allocation not being to your liking on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
674 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,324 reviews
7.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
572 reviews
9.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: The Imperial Taw Vale Parade, Barnstaple EX32 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range: £94 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple, North Devon, is part of the prestigious Brend chain of West Country hotels. Overlooking the River Taw at the heart of the market town of Barnstaple, this exceptional four-star hotel combines old-style charm with the highest standards of comfort and service. Whether you're looking for a family holiday or a peaceful break, the Imperial is the place for superb service. The hotel is also a popular venue for conferences, banquets and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Barnstaple
The Imperial Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing