We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service was excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Service was excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I booked into the Imperial Hotel with my Mother-in-law (79) for a couple of days, when we arrived we had a complimentary upgrade which was well received with a view of the river. The room was spacious and clean, bathroom facilities good with a nice power shower.That evening we ate in the restaurant, the service was excellent and the staff friendly. The table next to us had been visiting the area for over 20 years and spoke highly of the Brend Family brand.
The next day I went shopping and had lunch at The Bank (Brend family), again very nice food, although staff too efficient clearing my table and relaying whilst i was in the loo! That evening we ate at The Sands hotel on Saunton beach in the Terrace restaurant, fantastic views and again the food and service was excellent. I was very impressed with "Jed" the Assistant Manager whose customer service skills were second to none. I would like to stay at the Sands next time we visit the area. Mother-in-laws'observation "all the staff looked like they enjoyed their job", the Brend Brand is obviously working, I even saw a Brend Tour coach! I would recommend any of their hotels.

Room Tip: overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 888crabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

You have touched upon many aspects, each in a very positive manner, but it is most pleasing to read how much you enjoyed the food served to you and the friendliness of our team of staff.

It is most pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with and that you would recommend us to other travellers.

Your review will be placed on our review board for our hard working team to read.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    273
    67
    19
    8
See reviews for
223
846
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Another great stay at the Imperial - made to feel welcome from the start - nothing too much trouble for the staff - have and will heartily recommend the Imperial to family and friends - confident they too will be impressed.
Thanks to all concerned - looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us once again and that you found the service of our staff to be of a very high standard; that is something we strive for!.

It is also great to hear that you have stayed with us many times before and I very much hope we can welcome you back once again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

It is some time since we visited the Imperial but we came away saying that the hotel,its staff,the food served and every aspect is still a pleasure to be part of. Well done the Brend family for maintaining such high standards.

Room Tip: I believe any room in this hotel would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank sut2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am particularly pleased that after a long absence you found the hotel had the same high standards of service together with a friendly atmosphere and that the staff are very professional in their work.

I hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Brend hotels are famed for their high standards, and the Imperial is no exception. First-rate evening meals and breakfasts with excellent service. The staff are always helpful and instantly available. Our room overlooking the river was a delight, and it is reassuring that one can still find such a pleasurable hotel experience in today's world!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank michaelgswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of The Imperial Hotel after staying with us recently and awarding us 5 out of 5.

Your comments regarding all aspects being of a very high standard are very much appreciated, and be assured that your review will be placed on our review board for them all to see.

Thank you again and I do hope to welcome you back to The Imperial Hotel again when visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oosterbeek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We know the hotel can't control the weather, and it was quite warm outside when we stayed here at the end of July 2014. It made sleeping in our room quite the task. It was really very VERY warm in our room. Using the fan that the hotel supplied didn't really help, neither did opening the windows and curtains at night to let some of the heat out. Installing air conditioning in the rooms would be a big investment, we understand, not to speak of the planning permission, but in our opinion this hotel really needs it.
Otherwise, it's a great hotel to stay in. It looks and feels grand, the staff are great and it's right outside the centre of Barnstaple and close to the bus and train stations. We did not dine in the hotel restaurant but we heard it's pretty good.
Our room was big enough, the bed was good, as was the TV. The bathroom was also good and the housekeeping staff did a great job.
So it's a good hotel but we won't stay there again in Summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wim_Rijksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple.
I am most disappointed that on this occasion you found your bedroom to be too warm during our summer warm spell. The difficulties as you described regarding air conditioning are very real when dealing with a grade 2 listed building.
I am pleased to read that all other aspects of you stay however were of a high standard and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

as usual the hotel was very good. The staff know us by name, where we like to sit for dinner and what wine we drink. The food was very good as usual as was the service.
The hotel is somewhat traditional in the way it is run and that suits us perfectly. No noisy children running about, just quiet orderly service which is polite and friendly. Most of the staff have been there for over 10 years which is a tribute to the good management

Room Tip: all rooms are good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank roy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay at The Imperial Hotel and may I also thank you for your repeat custom.
I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us once again and found our staff to be polite and friendly.
Of all your welcoming feedback, the praise put on our hard working and long serving staff is most pleasing to read and I will be sure to place this on our 'review board' for all to see.
Again thank you for your positive review and I do hope we can welcome you back to The Imperial Hotel for another visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our second long week-end at this hotel the first being in November 2011 which was great and if anything this was even better.

The service here is faultless, our room which was an upgrade to a first floor with a small balcony overlooking the front, was an unexpected bonus surprise, and the food and service just have to be experienced.

Would never think of staying anywhere else and will definitely return.

We visited the Rosemoor RHS gardens they were lovely. One hot afternoon we also used the sister Barnstaple Hotel swimming pool - heated outdoor another bonus.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlooking the river are always nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Edwards1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Hotel Director at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel.

As this was your second visit to the hotel it is great to read that you felt the hotel was just as good if not better this time around. I am also most pleased to read that you found many of the local attractions to be of interest during your time here.

Thank you again and I do hope to welcome you back to The Imperial Hotel again when visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
0.9 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
9.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: The Imperial Taw Vale Parade, Barnstaple EX32 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple, North Devon, is part of the prestigious Brend chain of West Country hotels. Overlooking the River Taw at the heart of the market town of Barnstaple, this exceptional four-star hotel combines old-style charm with the highest standards of comfort and service. Whether you're looking for a family holiday or a peaceful break, the Imperial is the place for superb service. The hotel is also a popular venue for conferences, banquets and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Barnstaple
The Imperial Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing