We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cedars Inn(Sticklepath)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Barnstaple)
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yeo Dale Hotel(Barnstaple)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hollamoor Farm B&B(Barnstaple)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Poplars(Barnstaple)
US$120
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weirholme Annex(Barnstaple)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,755)
Filter reviews
1,755 results
Traveller rating
1,310
334
83
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,310
334
83
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the riverarlington restaurantfirst classbrend hotelsstandard roomdress codetraditional hotelhigh standardnothing is too much troubleexcellent foodshort breakbrend groupthird visitexcellent hotelthree nightsexcellent stayrelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
1,279 - 1,284 of 1,755 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I booked into the Imperial Hotel with my Mother-in-law (79) for a couple of days, when we arrived we had a complimentary upgrade which was well received with a view of the river. The room was spacious and clean, bathroom facilities good with a nice power shower.That evening we ate in the restaurant, the service was excellent and the staff friendly. The table next to us had been visiting the area for over 20 years and spoke highly of the Brend Family brand.
The next day I went shopping and had lunch at The Bank (Brend family), again very nice food, although staff too efficient clearing my table and relaying whilst i was in the loo! That evening we ate at The Sands hotel on Saunton beach in the Terrace restaurant, fantastic views and again the food and service was excellent. I was very impressed with "Jed" the Assistant Manager whose customer service skills were second to none. I would like to stay at the Sands next time we visit the area. Mother-in-laws'observation "all the staff looked like they enjoyed their job", the Brend Brand is obviously working, I even saw a Brend Tour coach! I would recommend any of their hotels.

Room Tip: overlooking the river
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 888crabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

You have touched upon many aspects, each in a very positive manner, but it is most pleasing to read how much you enjoyed the food served to you and the friendliness of our team of staff.

It is most pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with and that you would recommend us to other travellers.

Your review will be placed on our review board for our hard working team to read.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Another great stay at the Imperial - made to feel welcome from the start - nothing too much trouble for the staff - have and will heartily recommend the Imperial to family and friends - confident they too will be impressed.
Thanks to all concerned - looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us once again and that you found the service of our staff to be of a very high standard; that is something we strive for!.

It is also great to hear that you have stayed with us many times before and I very much hope we can welcome you back once again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

It is some time since we visited the Imperial but we came away saying that the hotel,its staff,the food served and every aspect is still a pleasure to be part of. Well done the Brend family for maintaining such high standards.

Room Tip: I believe any room in this hotel would be a good choice.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank sut2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Imperial Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am particularly pleased that after a long absence you found the hotel had the same high standards of service together with a friendly atmosphere and that the staff are very professional in their work.

I hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Brend hotels are famed for their high standards, and the Imperial is no exception. First-rate evening meals and breakfasts with excellent service. The staff are always helpful and instantly available. Our room overlooking the river was a delight, and it is reassuring that one can still find such a pleasurable hotel experience in today's world!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a river view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank michaelgswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your glowing review of The Imperial Hotel after staying with us recently and awarding us 5 out of 5.

Your comments regarding all aspects being of a very high standard are very much appreciated, and be assured that your review will be placed on our review board for them all to see.

Thank you again and I do hope to welcome you back to The Imperial Hotel again when visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We know the hotel can't control the weather, and it was quite warm outside when we stayed here at the end of July 2014. It made sleeping in our room quite the task. It was really very VERY warm in our room. Using the fan that the hotel supplied didn't really help, neither did opening the windows and curtains at night to let some of the heat out. Installing air conditioning in the rooms would be a big investment, we understand, not to speak of the planning permission, but in our opinion this hotel really needs it.
Otherwise, it's a great hotel to stay in. It looks and feels grand, the staff are great and it's right outside the centre of Barnstaple and close to the bus and train stations. We did not dine in the hotel restaurant but we heard it's pretty good.
Our room was big enough, the bed was good, as was the TV. The bathroom was also good and the housekeeping staff did a great job.
So it's a good hotel but we won't stay there again in Summer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wim_Rijksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your recent review of The Imperial Hotel, Barnstaple.
I am most disappointed that on this occasion you found your bedroom to be too warm during our summer warm spell. The difficulties as you described regarding air conditioning are very real when dealing with a grade 2 listed building.
I am pleased to read that all other aspects of you stay however were of a high standard and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews