We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,955)
Filter reviews
1,955 results
Traveller rating
1,462
374
89
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,462
374
89
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arlington restaurant overlooking the river first class brend hotels standard room dress code traditional hotel nothing is too much trouble high standard excellent food short break brend group quality hotel excellent hotel third visit excellent stay three nights
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 1,955 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018

One night for us, visiting relatives for a celebratory meal meant that we didn’t sample the restaurant and as we were setting off early, breakfast wasnt taken either which is a real shame as the dining room looked lovely

Nice room over looking the river - the modern bathroom was a striking contrast from the room and in reality, the hotel in general but it was really impressive.

Had a couple drinks in the bar before and after our dinner, the latter taken in the lounge. Really enjoyable with nice engagement from the staff and a good selection of reasonably priced drink (and delicious nibbles!) - the piped music in the bar was an acquired taste though

All in all, a great stay and will certainly book again if ever we return to the area

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Himself_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Thank you for your review and for awarding us a 5 out of 5 rating. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is most pleasing to read that, even though you didn't dine with us, you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay. We do hope you return once again, to hopefully enjoy the fine food and service which keeps people coming back again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

This was our fourth stay at the Imperial Hotel – this time in a state suite. As ever the staff were friendly, the room comfortable and the food excellent. It is clear that this is a hotel that people will often return to. We had let the hotel know that this was our silver wedding anniversary, and it would have been nice to have some acknowledgment from the hotel of this, but there was nothing. This was a little odd, as wedding anniversary information seems to be something the hotel asks about from guests, and the wine waiter did seem a little taken about the lack of fuss, and said that we would not be charged for a bottle of wine we had had earlier in the week (not the Champagne we had on the anniversary itself, but a cheaper wine on another night – at least it was a gesture). Unfortunately this didn’t happen and we were charged for all the drinks – perhaps it would have been better not to have said anything. This is the sort of thing that might get picked up in feedback cards left by guests, but the one in our room had already been completed by a previous guest (with his personal information), so perhaps the hotel will never know. As on previous occasions, the dining room staff were charming, the ‘office’ staff rather charmless, and for a special occasion it might be better to look elsewhere, although the food is very good indeed.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank k0lding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Thank you for your recent review and for scoring us so highly.
We always strive to offer our congratulations or best wishes with a card to all guests celebrating a special occasion, if we are aware. Please accept my apologies for this not being the case in this instance. Since your review was posted, we have reviewed our procedures to ensure that information is noted and that staff are updated immediately so that there is not a repeat of this situation. Please be assured that all of your comments have been taken on board and looked into at length.
I was extremely pleased to read that the staff were friendly, the room comfortable and the food excellent.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

A restful, relaxing holiday. The staff, as always, are caring and helpful. With our dietary requirements, the Chef cooked off-menu meals which was very helpful.
We've stayed here several times and will stay again.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Thank you for your review and for awarding us a 5 out of 5 rating. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us once again! I will pass your kind comments onto our Chef and his team. I'm so pleased your stay was restful and relaxing, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

We stayed here for a couple of days after returning from a holiday on Lundy. The room overlooking the river was clean and comfortable. All the staff worked tremendously hard to make our stay here a home-from-home. We will be back next month to celebrate my wife's birthday. Many thanks for making this stay perfect and looking forward to many more return visits.

Room tip: Rooms with a river view are excellent
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BrianW357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Thank you for your review and for awarding us a 5 out of 5 rating. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding our hard working staff members across all departments are lovely to read, and be assured these will be passed on to them via our 'review board' located in our staff room. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back next month for your wife's birthday..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We have stayed at the Imperial many (6+) times over the past 20 years and always enjoyed our time at the hotel, however we did notice a difference this year the food was a little disappointing not to the usual standard, our room was at the baclub of the hotel and was noisy diluemail to the large vent we presume was from the kitchens, we booked a Standard room which was smaller than the Imperial room, this was an error on my part as the difference in price wasn't huge. We will return in the future but will certainly ensure we book a larger room!

Room tip: Avoid the Standard room, too small and appear to situated where no one can sleep comfortably.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank angie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Imperial Hotel and may I also thank you for your repeat custom within Brend Hotels. I am most disappointed that on this occasion we were not able to satisfy your dining requirements as well as we'd hope. The vast majority of feedback regarding our food is positive so to hear of negative feedback is obviously rare. Rest assured your comments have however been taken on board.
We do offer a variety of grades of rooms, with a deluxe or the state room being the largest, whilst also benefiting from many extras as well as river views.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back once more in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews