We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great service. The staff are magnificent!”
Review of Barnstaple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barnstaple Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Really great service. The staff are magnificent!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and the room was lovely, clean and well maintained. The restaurant did a lovely romantic Valentines meal and all facilities were perfect. This is no Ramada, or Intercontinental, but the staff are so thoughtful that it has a delightful charm. I would stay again for sure.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sumoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    453
    157
    33
    17
See reviews for
368
365
56
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was travelling on my own for business, working in nearby Bidesford, Warm friendly welcome on reception, arrived to my room to find it beautifully furnished, looked quite new. Custom made curtains and pelmet. Good lighting and perfect room temperature. Not stuffy like some rooms can be. Bathroom had designer shampoo and shower gel provided and soft white fluffy towels. Was exhausted from work so stayed in my room for the evening, which was very comfortable. Easy to work remote tv , tea and biscuits provided, comfy bed. Breakfast was very good, staff were attentive and helpful, nice to be served my tea and toast and not have to make as you do in some hotels. The pool and gym facilities looked fantastic unfortunately I was too tired to use them. Would definitely stsy at the Barnstsple hotel again, it puts a lot of other hotels I stay in to shame.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUSINESS_TRIP186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Martyn Hawes Hotel Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is lovely to hear that you felt comfortable in your room, we continually refurbish our rooms to a very high standard, in the past year we have refurbished 12 rooms, both our ladies and gentleman toilets facilities front of house and our Arlington suite and this programme is planned to continue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winkleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was my daughters wedding reception, it was a fantastic day to be top off with fantastic service by all the staff, food was very good with plentiful available. Overall the whole experience of the hotel was of a high standard in good decorative order and clean, would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CRB1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review, we are glad you all enjoyed the wedding reception and we helped make the day perfect for you all, wishing you all lots of happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The room was a good size and well equipped. The bathroom was spotless and had a good shower but the floor was tiled which made it cold to stand on and there was no heating in the bathroom.
The buffet breakfast was good but personally I prefer a freshly cooked breakfast.
All the staff were pleasant and helpful.
A good hotel for visiting the area but you do need a car.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Traveller9909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for leaving a review. Here at The Barnstaple Hotel we pride ourselves on clean rooms and facilities and I am very pleased you have noticed this. We hope you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for 1 night and was warned about the party however the bar service was reasonably poor. We waited 20mins to get a drink, it's a shame the powers that be didn't put in more staff but other than that the hotel is nice the staff polite, gym and pool are nice and clean. Breakfasts was very good. We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Martyn Hawes Hotel Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am very sorry that the service in our bar area was slow, I have passed these comments on to the bar manager. I am glad you didn’t let this ruin your stay and we hope you visit us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

we stayed for the weekend visiting family. The staff were friendly and helpful and we were impressed with the hotel. our evening meal was really good, again the staff were excellent. With regards to a previous comment on trip advisor about the room being too hot, we just opened a window and turned down the radiator thermostat down problem solved! Thank you Barnstaple hotel for a great stay.Booked with late rooms at a great price but hotel will price match.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvusahants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Great hotel and very helpfull staff, great room and very comfortable too! Good wifi signal as well. Apart from the hotel there is not much close by for food apart from a Burger King which closes at 10pm.
Breakfast is self service, which i prefer and chef prepares eggs on request a nice touch. Didn't have chance to use the leasuire facilities as I arrived late and I was only booked in for one night.
I would stay here again if working in the area again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
611 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,764 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
10.7 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnstaple Hotel

Property: Barnstaple Hotel
Address: Braunton Road, Barnstaple EX31 1LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barnstaple Hotel: The Barnstaple Hotel is just a short stroll from the centre of the picturesque market town of Barnstaple, and only ten minutes drive from the stunning North Devon coast. Stylish and contemporary, and with an easy, friendly atmosphere, the hotel is ideal for family holidays with its spacious bedrooms around the pool. Businessmen, too, choose it as a comfortable and convenient venue for conferences and meetings. And if you're planning a wedding, you can be sure of the perfect day of your dreams. Recently refurbished and expanded, the Barnstaple Hotel is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Use it as a base for exploring North Devon's attractions and beauty spots. You'll soon feel at home! North Devon's premier health and leisure centre: The superb new Health and Leisure Club - North Devon's finest - offers you heated indoor and outdoor pools, a high-tech gym, and a range of soothing alternative therapies and treatments. The ideal conference venue. With its easy access to North Devon's major road and rail links, the Barnstaple Hotel is a convenient location for business meetings. We can do everything to make your conference a success, whether it's small seminar or a gathering of up to 350.Your delegates will appreciate the well-equipped conferences rooms, the luxury en-suite accommodation, and the delicious food. When you choose the Barnstaple Hotel for your business meeting you'll have all the advantages of a metropolitan venue with the added glories of the North Devon coast nearby. So why not combine business with pleasure? A family holiday to remember: You and your family can enjoy ten-pin bowling and thrilling go-karting nearby. Within a short drive you'll find golden sandy beaches, theme and farm parks - everything, in fact, to keep your children busy and happy. And the beaches at Saunton and Croyde, with their surf schools, are close by. The Tarka Trail cycle path runs alongside the hotel - why not hire a bike and cycle beside the river to Bideford or Braunton? And with the beautiful Exmoor National Park nearby, you can go wild in the country - it's just a short drive away! Banquets and functions: The Barnstaple Hotel is perfect for celebrations and parties, from small intimate occasions with a simple buffet to extravagant banquets for 300 guests. Our experienced team will be delighted to advise you. Your North Devon Wedding: At The Barnstaple Hotel we take care of absolutely everything to make sure that your special day runs smoothly and successfully. And as well as hosting your wedding reception, we can offer the Arlington Suite or the Ashford Suite if you are arranging a civil marriage ceremony. Our dedicated wedding planner will be on hand to help you make all the right decisions, down to the smallest detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnstaple Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing