We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise”
Review of Barnstaple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barnstaple Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a last minute booking for a small group desperate to find somewhere on a bank holiday weekend after some days walking. What a wonderful surprise to get clean (and quiet) rooms, a great tub to soak in and rest the feet. But perhaps the best part was the service with a "can-do" attitude and good food at great prices. I would say best carvery I've had in years (and only £9.95). Can't believe I had room for dessert - I asked for treacle pudding, an old favourite - which they didn't have but offered to make for me for tomorrow. Alas, we were gone in the morning.
Breakfast was a feast and no hesitation in me ordering a cappuccino in place of regular coffee and whatever hot food I wanted that was not on the buffet (porridge & an omelette in my case).
A fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for leaving us a lovely review, it was nice to hear that we were able to make your stay as comfortable as possible. If you do return to do some more walking let us know and we will see what we can do about the treacle pudding!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

A group I belong to, had its annual get-together at the Barnstable Hotel. We could not have been looked after better. The best food any of of us could remember, meals served efficiently , No difficulty in managing about 100 of us sitting down at once, even on an evening they said they were short-handed. Packed lunches were appetising. The rooms for our meetings etc were conveniently situated, near the dining room and lounge area. Many of us enjoyed the pools. Staff friendly and quietly competent. Our every need catered for.

Room Tip: Best to avoid a room facing the road if you are a light sleeper. There are ground floor rooms as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ajay38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for leaving us a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Barnstaple Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just been to a three night literary society conference at the Barnstable Hotel and were so impressed. The staff were exceptional, ever helpful and always had the rooms looking spotless and ready for us. The food was great and they were able to serve a great number of people with quiet efficiency.

The hotel is next to the industrial estate and looks like an American 1950's style motel - but inside it is well lit, rather glamorous and suited the Chinese theme of our meeting perfectly.

I didn't use the spa but the pools looked great and am told they were very warm. I could see that a few discerning locals were enjoying being pampered. Go for a swim and see what you think!

Room Tip: We chose a room with a balcony on the first floor but I am told the ground floor rooms are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieN685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it is lovely to hear that the society enjoyed their weekend here at The Barnstaple Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a very good standard for a three star hotel. It is located on a main road about a mile from the pleasant town centre. Neither the hotel or its location will win any awards for being scenic. It is, however, easy to get to and has a big car park. The rooms are modern and well equipped, I had no problem with noise from adjacent rooms. Good bathrooms with limited toilietries but nice towels. Free wi-fi, which is a "must" these days. Very good menu and food selection available in both bar and restaurant. There is no dress code but there should be: "smart casual, etc" ,as some guests dress for their own comfort not that of others who may not like eating next to people in dirty jeans. There is a good indoor pool (used) and a big gym (did not use) and ladies' and gents' saunas. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean, a real credit to them. Reception staff are generally very good but check -out was accomplished without a smile which I always thing is a bad thing. All in all, a useful place for a one or two night stay and that, I guess, is their marketplace. Therefore, my score is "very good".

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everthecritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel clean and you enjoyed the food we serve.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a stay one of the best hotels we have stayed in for several years. The staff are very professional, smartly dressed and so very helpful at all times. They provided food to meet my dietary needs without any fuss. The standard of food was excellent wide choice of menu and high standard. The facilities are good the pools are excellent situated within the building but are not intrusive

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - it was lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and we are so glad you all enjoyed your weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We chose the Barnstaple Hotel as we were cycling the Tarka Trail and the hotel was perfectly located for this.

All the staff we met were friendly, helpful and made our stay special. The room was spotless, quiet and very comfortable, it's quite rare that I sleep well in a hotel but I did here.

The food was of very good quality and served with care. I would agree with another reviewer however that they really need to get a more varied selection of background music, the same few tunes seemed to be playing all the time!

This hotel deserves a higher star rating in my opinion, we will definately use it again when in the area next time.

Room Tip: Pool view with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CotswoldsMidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The sunday carvery at £9.95 is good value for money, we always tend to go there when in Barnstable/Croyde being several times a year for a number of years now.
We have not stayed overnight there since the days when it was called Barnstaple Motel.
(Staying at times at a sister hotel The Imperial)
This review is for the sunday lunch / carvery.
There are three meats on the carvery: beef, turkey, ham.
All cooked to perfection, there is a good selection of most vegatables, again well cooked, however the sprouts tended to be over cooked on this last occasion, but there are plenty other vegs to choose from if you dont like your sprouts overcooked.
I never as a rule, have a dessert, but here I make an acception, all items on offer are excellent so I indulge.
There are one or two small items that niggle me, and perhaps others may feel the same.
A good full house is obtained to the sunday cavery, outside the main doors are seven car park spaces, two of which are designated disabled.
A disabled person not being one of the first seven to arrive, either needs to dropped off or walk , a good distance.
In fact I did see an elderly couple after leaving the lunch, slowly making their way to a car at the end of the car park with a blue badge on view.
It could be an idea to make the other five spaces "temporary disabled" for such occasions .
The coffee is served in the classic hotel style, but the sugar lumps provided do not seem to have tongs provided, so diners thumb through the white and brown lumps hmm......... either an oversight or something the waiting staff forget.
I am not sure but it seems that whilst there are three meats on the servery, only two are provided, as a request for a "little of each" is supplied as beef and turkey.
I may be mistaken and as always will stand corrected, but I have not seen a notice to the effect of "choose any two meats from our exstensive carvery" or similar.
So small things, but I know having stayed at another sister hotel, customer satisfaction is at the forefront of the managements agenda.
As a way of recognising this, it is very good to see that staff are provided to assist persons who need assistance to fetch and carry their meals from carvery to table.
The few niggles make it a very good overall (not excellent) the quality of the food served and the waiting staff are both excellent and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Note there are rooms with a motel style door arrangement, I.E outside by the pool. This may not be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sid g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Your points are very valid and i will pass onto Senior Management to discuss further. We are glad you enjoy your Carvery with us and again would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
673 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,589 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,800 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnstaple Hotel

Address: Braunton Road, Barnstaple EX31 1LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range: £76 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barnstaple Hotel: The Barnstaple Hotel is just a short stroll from the centre of the picturesque market town of Barnstaple, and only ten minutes drive from the stunning North Devon coast. Stylish and contemporary, and with an easy, friendly atmosphere, the hotel is ideal for family holidays with its spacious bedrooms around the pool. Businessmen, too, choose it as a comfortable and convenient venue for conferences and meetings. And if you're planning a wedding, you can be sure of the perfect day of your dreams. Recently refurbished and expanded, the Barnstaple Hotel is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Use it as a base for exploring North Devon's attractions and beauty spots. You'll soon feel at home! North Devon's premier health and leisure centre: The superb new Health and Leisure Club - North Devon's finest - offers you heated indoor and outdoor pools, a high-tech gym, and a range of soothing alternative therapies and treatments. The ideal conference venue. With its easy access to North Devon's major road and rail links, the Barnstaple Hotel is a convenient location for business meetings. We can do everything to make your conference a success, whether it's small seminar or a gathering of up to 350.Your delegates will appreciate the well-equipped conferences rooms, the luxury en-suite accommodation, and the delicious food. When you choose the Barnstaple Hotel for your business meeting you'll have all the advantages of a metropolitan venue with the added glories of the North Devon coast nearby. So why not combine business with pleasure? A family holiday to remember: You and your family can enjoy ten-pin bowling and thrilling go-karting nearby. Within a short drive you'll find golden sandy beaches, theme and farm parks - everything, in fact, to keep your children busy and happy. And the beaches at Saunton and Croyde, with their surf schools, are close by. The Tarka Trail cycle path runs alongside the hotel - why not hire a bike and cycle beside the river to Bideford or Braunton? And with the beautiful Exmoor National Park nearby, you can go wild in the country - it's just a short drive away! Banquets and functions: The Barnstaple Hotel is perfect for celebrations and parties, from small intimate occasions with a simple buffet to extravagant banquets for 300 guests. Our experienced team will be delighted to advise you. Your North Devon Wedding: At The Barnstaple Hotel we take care of absolutely everything to make sure that your special day runs smoothly and successfully. And as well as hosting your wedding reception, we can offer the Arlington Suite or the Ashford Suite if you are arranging a civil marriage ceremony. Our dedicated wedding planner will be on hand to help you make all the right decisions, down to the smallest detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnstaple Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing