We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barnstaple Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Park Hotel(Barnstaple)
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Hotel(Barnstaple)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durrant House(Bideford)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,454)
Filter reviews
1,454 results
Traveller rating
698
524
173
42
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
698
524
173
42
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolbowling alleykids clubburger kingchanging roomsan industrial estatehealth clubleisure facilitiesno liftgreat facilitieswould stay againfirst classlovely hotelnorth devonfunction roombrend hotelsexcellent food
Filter
Updating list...
1,121 - 1,126 of 1,454 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel as we were attending a wedding. The staff were all lovely and friendly, anytime of the day or night. The room was nice and clean. As a family of 3 (1 adult and 2 children) the room was a large double, with a 'put up bed'. The bed was lovely and comfortable. Plenty of towels, tea, coffee etc supplied.
The only thing that I wasn't happy about was finding a lighter on the window frame of our room. I can only presume that someone had been smoking out of the window. No smell of smoke though, so maybe I was wrong.
Delicious breakfast in the morning, and outstanding service too. As part of the booking, children under 12 years of age get free lemonade, Coke, ice cream and ice poles. While we weren't there long enough to take advantage of that, I thought it was a nice touch.

Check in/out was quick and easy, free car cark, and handy directions from the lady on reception at check out.

Many thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for leaving us a review, it was lovely to read you thought we were a wonderful hotel. With regards to the lighter situation this will be investigated with our head housekeeper as this is not the level of service we expect in our hotels but it was lovely to hear this did not affect your stay with us. We hope if you visit North Devon again you will stay with us again at The Barnstaple Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

went here for a family break we had 3 rooms we booked through booking .com but when we arrived the booking .com had not booked us the right rooms but the staff at the reception were very helpful and arranged the rooms within minutes the rooms were just the right size cleaned every day the breakfast was wonderfull everything was available 2 eat the pools indoor and out was a big bonus as we had 3 children and they spent most of there time in there overall the staff were excellent hotel was perfect should be more than a 3star

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pat r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at The Barnstaple Hotel and we were able to get your rooms corrected for you quickly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We used Barnstaple as a base to explore Devon and found the hotel to be a perfect match for us. To sum it up we felt relaxed and 'at home' there. Yes, it's a little dated - but nearly all hotels feel tired unless they're constantly being returned. The room was a good size with plenty of clever storage and the bathroom was of a very high standard. Leisure facilities were just right for an hotel of this size. Staff were excellent, friendly, efficient and considerate. We only used the restaurant for breakfast, so cannot really comment on the food. All in all a great hotel that we wouldn"t hesitate to stay at again.

Room Tip: Room 60 is the biggest room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Disappointed044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for leaving us a review. It was lovely to hear you think we are a great hotel and would use us again. Here at The Barnstaple Hotel we have a continued refurbishment programme in the last 18 months we have completed refurbishment on our upstairs rooms and Arlington Suite, and in the next year we have refurbishment of 10 ground floor rooms and our Ashford Bar and Pilton Room scheduled.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From the outside the hotel looks like a holiday camp, on the outskirts of Barnstaple. But inside the hotel was very smart, the staff very friendly and polite, and the room was very good with tea and coffee supplied also a hairdryer, a fan and plentyfull towels. You can order room service for £3 plus you can allso have flowers, champagne etc in your room when you arrive fof that special romantic feel. We went swimming in the indoor pool and were given towels to use, the hotel allso as a outdoor pool, suna, relaxation room , gym. Our full english breakfast with toast, tea, coffee and juice was first class as were the staff. On the downside there is no lift but were offered to have our case taken to our room.there was no family bar on a evening to keep young ones ammused. Next door is Lets go bowling, amussments, pool and Burger king.
Overall this is a very good hotel, we would reconmend it to anyone, and on a scale of 1-10 we would rate this one a 8.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steviejc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We understand no lift can be difficult for some of our guests however we do have porter who is able to help with luggage and 17 ground floor rooms for those who may struggle with the stairs. During the School Holidays we do have a games room for the children, to help keep them entertained. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent a night at the Barnstaple as a fairly spontaneous family break. I knew the hotel already but had not stayed before. The setting of the hotel is not great, and the appearance of the hotel from the outside is tired. Inside there are elements which feel very old fashioned, but the room was smart and clean, and the facilities, the pool particularly, was fairly modern.

There was a function, which we were warned of by the hotel in advance, and we did not hear. However we weren't told that meant we'd be displaced to a side lounge for the evening meal. Whilst there was a kids menu the timing of the bar and restaurant opening were really not conducive to kids eating. We arrived as soon as it opened and, together with another family with toddlers, sat for 45 mins before our food arrived. In my experience its unusual to find a hotel of this size where the bar is not open through the afternoon and evening for a drink, and generally a bar meal, too. That was disappointing.

Breakfast was great, and the staff on breakfast in particular were friendly. We used the pool too and found that very good.

Location wise it's really easy to find, ample parking, and great access to the north Devon coast and Braunton Burrows in particular.

A little more work to bring this place into the 21st century and it would be really good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dan_J_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, we appreciate all feedback and always investigate and learn from it. Here at The Barnstaple Hotel we have a continuous refurbishment programme with 10 ground floor rooms, our Ashford Bar and Pilton Room all being refurbished in the near future.

It was nice to hear you were pre warned about the function by our Reception Team and that you were not disturbed, opening our Ashford Bar for hotel residents on nights of big functions is done with their comfort and peace in mind as it can be quite disruptive in the Heanton Bar with large functions arriving and we always aim to move them back to the Heanton Bar when the function has settled.

Our bars start serving food from 6pm until 10pm and restaurant is open 7pm to 9.30pm which we open 6.30pm during school holiday for our young diners. However during the afternoons we have the bar open in the health club which serve a selection of sandwiches, ice creams, cakes and chocolate bars as well as a beverage menu available throughout the hotel which is always available to hotel guests. With regards to your wait for food, although all our food is cooked to order and freshly prepared this time frame is not acceptable and we will be talking to our Chef team and investigating further.

Again we appreciate all feedback and take all comments on board and hope that you will come back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews