We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of banging doors!”
Review of Barnstaple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barnstaple Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“House of banging doors!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Not a bad place to stay for a night or two, however as someone who visits hotels at least 30+ times per year for business and pleasure i wouldn't rate the property much above average.

The staff are friendly which is always great after a busy day and a must in today's customer focussed leisure sector. Internally the hotel looks a little dated and this continues into the rooms. Perhaps i was expecting too much for a 3 star establishment.

Unfortunately there must be some design fault with the hotel bedroom doors; i've never experienced such continuous loud banging in a hotel ever before. It's like someone is hitting the wall with a sledgehammer every time someone leaves their room and their door closes.

Seriously irritating if you're trying to sleep or work in you room. Time to get some new hinges maybe?!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Jayne Sime Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear your found our staff friendly and helpful. Here at The Barnstaple Hotel we have a continued refurbishment programme, in the last 18 months we have completed refurbishment on our upstairs rooms and Arlington Suite, and in the next year we have refurbishment of 10 ground floor rooms and our Ashford Bar and Pilton Room scheduled.
I will however pass on your comments regarding the banging of the doors to our maintenance team who will look into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    438
    154
    32
    17
See reviews for
342
360
55
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were visiting family and stayed one night. Good clean room, only personal downside was the plug in air fresheners. The room overlooked the outdoor swimming pool with some seating in a grassed area, very pleasant first thing in the morning. Friendly bar and good dinner from a reasonable fixed price menu. Good breakfast with eggs freshly cooked to order which is a nice touch. Enjoyed the hotel and will stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27williamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Jayne Sime Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review, it is a lovely to hear you had such a lovely time staying here at the Barnstaple Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back if your back in North Devon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is on an industrial site. Don't let this put you off. Once through the doors this is a lovely hotel. Very friendly staff, excellent food, and room was lovely with balcony overlooking pool and lawn. There is also an inside pool. Lots of nice very comfortable seating areas. As we are in the older age bracket the only downside for us was that there was no lift.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Jayne Sime Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review, it is a lovely to hear you had such a lovely time staying here at the Barnstaple Hotel, unfortunately we are unable to have a lift, we have rooms on the ground floor which we always try to allocate people who may feel the lack of a lift will be a problem, we also always have staff on hand available to assist with luggage.
We look forward to welcoming you back if your visiting North Devon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here as a couple for 5 nights but it was clear that this would be the perfect place for kids with the indoor and outdoor pools plus the communal grassy area within the complex. The rooms were clean and well equipped and the staff were all excellent. Food in the hotel was v good - we had breakfast each day and one evening meal which was really good. We visited the bowling alley next door on the one afternoon it rained which was good fun - you can play pool, table football and air hockey too so something for everyone really! The Tarka trail can be accessed by going round the side of the hotel and down the service road a little way - from there it's a leisurely 15 minute stroll into barnstaple one way and a couple of miles or so the other way to Braunton (would recommend stopping off at the Braunton Inn en route for a beer!) which is a nice little place. This place is easily accessible and is a good base for the area - really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool would be good if have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Jayne Sime Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review, it is a lovely to hear you had such a lovely time staying here at the Barnstaple Hotel and enjoyed the surrounding areas.
I will pass on your lovely comments to all other departments.
We look forward to welcoming you again if you should decide to visit North Devon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very comfortable stay all that i expected excellent service, good gym open at sensible times as were the two pools. An easy wifi system without usernames adnd passwords to set up. Hotel about 3 miles from town shops but easy in car. Excellent car parking. Next door is a bowling and other facilities but hotel separate. Coop supermarket past car showrooms 5 minute walk good standard.

Room Tip: WE were room 50 at the end of a coorridor therefore quiet NO lifts but only two lots of steps fo toa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Jayne Sime Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and made good use of our facilities.
We do feel our location is ideal for visiting the town centre and surrounding beaches and countryside.
We look forward to welcoming you if you should be visiting the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here for just the one night but enjoyed my stay. The shower was great and very clean. The bed was also comfortable and tea and coffee plentiful. The only thing I would say is we did not eat there,we were offered breakfast but at £12 thought it quite expensive. It was a walk away from the town which was enjoyable as you pass by the river to get there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Jayne Sime Head Receptionist at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it was lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. We look forward to welcoming you back if you visit Devon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We keep returning and take our kids, grand kids, even take the wife and it is always consistent with great service, lovely restaurant, great pools and nice family bar. Stayed here loads of time and will continue to do so

Room Tip: Can be by pool or inside, all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Amy Noblett - Office Manager at Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad you always bring your family including your wife :) and that you always enjoy your stay and look forward to coming back. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
579 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,514 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,756 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnstaple Hotel

Property: Barnstaple Hotel
Address: Braunton Road, Barnstaple EX31 1LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barnstaple Hotel: The Barnstaple Hotel is just a short stroll from the centre of the picturesque market town of Barnstaple, and only ten minutes drive from the stunning North Devon coast. Stylish and contemporary, and with an easy, friendly atmosphere, the hotel is ideal for family holidays with its spacious bedrooms around the pool. Businessmen, too, choose it as a comfortable and convenient venue for conferences and meetings. And if you're planning a wedding, you can be sure of the perfect day of your dreams. Recently refurbished and expanded, the Barnstaple Hotel is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Use it as a base for exploring North Devon's attractions and beauty spots. You'll soon feel at home! North Devon's premier health and leisure centre: The superb new Health and Leisure Club - North Devon's finest - offers you heated indoor and outdoor pools, a high-tech gym, and a range of soothing alternative therapies and treatments. The ideal conference venue. With its easy access to North Devon's major road and rail links, the Barnstaple Hotel is a convenient location for business meetings. We can do everything to make your conference a success, whether it's small seminar or a gathering of up to 350.Your delegates will appreciate the well-equipped conferences rooms, the luxury en-suite accommodation, and the delicious food. When you choose the Barnstaple Hotel for your business meeting you'll have all the advantages of a metropolitan venue with the added glories of the North Devon coast nearby. So why not combine business with pleasure? A family holiday to remember: You and your family can enjoy ten-pin bowling and thrilling go-karting nearby. Within a short drive you'll find golden sandy beaches, theme and farm parks - everything, in fact, to keep your children busy and happy. And the beaches at Saunton and Croyde, with their surf schools, are close by. The Tarka Trail cycle path runs alongside the hotel - why not hire a bike and cycle beside the river to Bideford or Braunton? And with the beautiful Exmoor National Park nearby, you can go wild in the country - it's just a short drive away! Banquets and functions: The Barnstaple Hotel is perfect for celebrations and parties, from small intimate occasions with a simple buffet to extravagant banquets for 300 guests. Our experienced team will be delighted to advise you. Your North Devon Wedding: At The Barnstaple Hotel we take care of absolutely everything to make sure that your special day runs smoothly and successfully. And as well as hosting your wedding reception, we can offer the Arlington Suite or the Ashford Suite if you are arranging a civil marriage ceremony. Our dedicated wedding planner will be on hand to help you make all the right decisions, down to the smallest detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnstaple Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing