We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant get past the Norovirus message”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cant get past the Norovirus message”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A flying visit to this hotel as my wife and I stayed one night because of a concert at the Queens theatre in Barnstaple. First impressions were good, car parking was excellent, the reception was well kept and the receptionist was friendly and efficient, and indeed all the staff we came into contact with were excellent.
The room I'm afraid needed a serious update the furniture was dated and well past its sell past date. I have been in many,many hotels and the unique feature of this hotel was the note next to the television warning of the dangers of Norovirus accompanied by a small bottle of antiseptic gel. We weren't sure whether to be comforted by this or very afraid and frankly we were washing our hands at every opportunity. The bar area seriously needs updating the furniture is probably 20-30 years old. Would I stay at this hotel again answer probably not.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinshrimper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with your arrival and well greeted by our staff. I apologise however, that you were not so pleased with the decor of our bar area and your room. We do have refurbishment plans for the bedrooms which will hopefully be put into place in the near future, our bar area was refurbished only 18 months ago including new flooring and furniture.

I also apologise for the confusion caused to you by the Brend Hotels Norovirus policy. Please allow me to clarify. During the winter months norovirus becomes very common and highly contagious, especially in places of high population. Each Brend Hotel takes great care to maintain very high standards of cleanliness and therefore the likelyhood of any guests catching the virus from the hotel is very slim. However, we are aware that it can be picked up from other places you may visit during your stay with us. Therefore the policy of providing our guests with hand sanitisers and notifying them of norovirus was introduced to reduce any risks associated with norovirus so you can enjoy your time with us.

I aplogise again for the confusion this caused you during your stay with us and hope this has helped clarify our reasoning for notifying guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    187
    56
    17
    11
See reviews for
108
187
27
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We arrived at the Park hotel without prebooking, very tired after a stressful day, literally walked in off the street with no preconceptions. We were offered a very competitive half-board rate with a room upgrade when I asked what they could offer. We were taken aback by the friendliness of all the staff, particularly on reception, at the bar, and the duty manageress who took time out to share with us some local knowledge (Mrs JohnBoy was attending an interview at a nearby school with the prospect of us relocating 360 miles south).
The room - to the front overlooking the park - was spacious, well appointed and very clean. The food in the restaurant was of a higher than expected standard within the rate paid. We looked at the hotel tariffs and even without the discount, we agreed it amounted to great value for money.
My wife needed some printing from off her laptop for her presentation at the interview and the receptionist very kindly printed this off an email sent to the hotel, at no charge, which is indicative of the fantastic customer service. The barman was also very friendly, contributing to the overall ambience of relaxation.
A gem of a find under the circumstances - completely exceeding our expectations.

Room Tip: Our room at the front was spacious and had a nice outlook over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBoy030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

we stayed at the hotel for a ruby wedding anniversary and had the best time ever. Food was excellant and was served by some of the best waiters and waitresses have come across on my travels. The rooms were to an excellant standard. The town is a short walk away so there is plenty to do. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are in this area. We could not of had a better time. Thank you to everyone who made this possible.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We recently stayed the weekend for a 40th Wedding Anniversary, the rooms were lovely, nice and clean, beds very comfortable and a lovely view over the park. Nothing was to much for the staff, very friendly and very helpful with anything we asked for. The food was excellent. The room we had the party in was excellent, they had made the room look very nice and the tables were dressed very well and although there was 130 of us for a 3 course sit down meal, they did an excellent job getting us all served. Would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst on a business trip. The room was functional and was located in the annex at the back of the Hotel. It was clean, quiet, comfortable, had free wi fi and easy access to town. Minor irritation of stairs and no lift in annex and having to walk over to main hotel for breakfast which isn't ideal in the pouring rain.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you were comfortable in your room and apologise that you found being located in our garden court rooms during poor weather inconvenient. Wherever possible we aim to give our guests rooms that they request, should you plan to stay with us in the future please contact a member of our reception who will be more than happy to help with locating you the best suitable room. With regards to the lift, I apologise again, this is an ongoing plan which will hopefully come into place in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to review The Park hotel and we hope you return to us should you visit Barnstaple again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife & I had our Ruby Wedding at The Park Hotel recently and the whole event was excellently run by the management and staff. Nothing was too much trouble on the day or with agreeing to our demands in the year long run up to the event. The rooms were clean and tidy and the restaurant staff friendly. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel which is situated close to town but in a quiet location overlooking Rock Park and the river Taw. We took over the whole hotel and had guests from age 70yrs+ to 18mths and we have received numerous positive comments about the hotel and the event. Good leisure facilities in a sister hotel close by.

Room Tip: Garden Court very quiet, rooms overlooking the Park slightly larger and south facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandGill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. We are so glad we were able to play a part in marking such a special occasion. You were a lovely couple to work with in the many months of planning and on the day.

Thank you for choosing us as your venue, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were a party of 9 Golfers staying for 3 nights on a full board package. The rooms were spacious, clean and very welcoming. Our food was excellent in choice and presentation. This hotel made our Golf trip a very good experience. The team at the hotel were very professional and friendly and if we could award a 6th star we would. We will return, whether they want such a boisterous bunch again we will discover when we try to book again.
From: Thatch, Zeb, Tommo, The Chancellor, Wagon & Hawes, Snake Hips, Dog, Landlord & Bandit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thatch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for you recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here during your golfing trip, it is lovely to hear that we were able to make the trip such a good experience. We look forward to you booking your return visit to us and welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Taw Vale, Barnstaple EX32 9AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated opposite Rock Park and only a short level walk to the town centre, this modern 3-star hotel offers easy access to the countryside and beaches of North Devon. Guests can use the leisure facilities, including the indoor and outdoor swimming pools of the Park's sister hotel, The Barnstaple Hotel. The Park Hotel is part of the Brend Hotel Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing