We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit for lunch function”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Return visit for lunch function”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Having been here earlier in the year, I did know what to expect.
On this occasion we had booked the carvery lunch a little later than before and this did make a difference to the perceived quality of the food. Quite simply, the earlier the better because everything is as fresh as it can be. After an hour it diminishes markedly. The only things really hot are the utensil handles !
Also there is a feeling of regimentation in the way guests are served, so a little disappointing this time. But still typical Brend culture.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinatrafan552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent lunch with us. I apologise that the standard of food and service you received was not as high as that of your previous visit and assure you the situation will be personally monitored by myself to ensure that the standards expected by our guests are maintained at any time of visiting.

Thank you again for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated as it allows us to improve on areas we are not always aware of

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    196
    57
    18
    11
See reviews for
120
200
28
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. Because I was a walk-in guest, I had to move rooms after 2 nights ( no big deal). So I stayed in 2 different rooms in the Garden Court building (an older building across the rear parking lot from the main part of the hotel). Since this building was not on the road it was very quiet. The room was fine. Both the front desk and housekeeping staff were very nice. My only complaint is that the wifi in this part of the hotel was basically useless. I could not stay logged on for more than like 2 minutes. Other than that all was good.

Room Tip: Try the garden court building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the hotel for a 40th wedding anniversary.there was about a 130 of us and we were catered for wonderfully. The staff were very helpful and the whole week end was very enjoyable. Would certainly recommend this hotel, particularly for a large function

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A flying visit to this hotel as my wife and I stayed one night because of a concert at the Queens theatre in Barnstaple. First impressions were good, car parking was excellent, the reception was well kept and the receptionist was friendly and efficient, and indeed all the staff we came into contact with were excellent.
The room I'm afraid needed a serious update the furniture was dated and well past its sell past date. I have been in many,many hotels and the unique feature of this hotel was the note next to the television warning of the dangers of Norovirus accompanied by a small bottle of antiseptic gel. We weren't sure whether to be comforted by this or very afraid and frankly we were washing our hands at every opportunity. The bar area seriously needs updating the furniture is probably 20-30 years old. Would I stay at this hotel again answer probably not.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinshrimper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with your arrival and well greeted by our staff. I apologise however, that you were not so pleased with the decor of our bar area and your room. We do have refurbishment plans for the bedrooms which will hopefully be put into place in the near future, our bar area was refurbished only 18 months ago including new flooring and furniture.

I also apologise for the confusion caused to you by the Brend Hotels Norovirus policy. Please allow me to clarify. During the winter months norovirus becomes very common and highly contagious, especially in places of high population. Each Brend Hotel takes great care to maintain very high standards of cleanliness and therefore the likelyhood of any guests catching the virus from the hotel is very slim. However, we are aware that it can be picked up from other places you may visit during your stay with us. Therefore the policy of providing our guests with hand sanitisers and notifying them of norovirus was introduced to reduce any risks associated with norovirus so you can enjoy your time with us.

I aplogise again for the confusion this caused you during your stay with us and hope this has helped clarify our reasoning for notifying guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We arrived at the Park hotel without prebooking, very tired after a stressful day, literally walked in off the street with no preconceptions. We were offered a very competitive half-board rate with a room upgrade when I asked what they could offer. We were taken aback by the friendliness of all the staff, particularly on reception, at the bar, and the duty manageress who took time out to share with us some local knowledge (Mrs JohnBoy was attending an interview at a nearby school with the prospect of us relocating 360 miles south).
The room - to the front overlooking the park - was spacious, well appointed and very clean. The food in the restaurant was of a higher than expected standard within the rate paid. We looked at the hotel tariffs and even without the discount, we agreed it amounted to great value for money.
My wife needed some printing from off her laptop for her presentation at the interview and the receptionist very kindly printed this off an email sent to the hotel, at no charge, which is indicative of the fantastic customer service. The barman was also very friendly, contributing to the overall ambience of relaxation.
A gem of a find under the circumstances - completely exceeding our expectations.

Room Tip: Our room at the front was spacious and had a nice outlook over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBoy030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

we stayed at the hotel for a ruby wedding anniversary and had the best time ever. Food was excellant and was served by some of the best waiters and waitresses have come across on my travels. The rooms were to an excellant standard. The town is a short walk away so there is plenty to do. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are in this area. We could not of had a better time. Thank you to everyone who made this possible.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We recently stayed the weekend for a 40th Wedding Anniversary, the rooms were lovely, nice and clean, beds very comfortable and a lovely view over the park. Nothing was to much for the staff, very friendly and very helpful with anything we asked for. The food was excellent. The room we had the party in was excellent, they had made the room look very nice and the tables were dressed very well and although there was 130 of us for a 3 course sit down meal, they did an excellent job getting us all served. Would recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,756 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Taw Vale, Barnstaple EX32 9AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated opposite Rock Park and only a short level walk to the town centre, this modern 3-star hotel offers easy access to the countryside and beaches of North Devon. Guests can use the leisure facilities, including the indoor and outdoor swimming pools of the Park's sister hotel, The Barnstaple Hotel. The Park Hotel is part of the Brend Hotel Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing