We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pity!”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Booking by telephone was a delight. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and, after a discussion, upgraded us to a Superior Twin . When we arrived the staff were friendly and eager to help with our bags. The room was clean and quite adequate for us. The breakfasts (we stayed three nights) were good and we were not troubled on the third day by the large party. BUT we chose to eat in the restaurant on the first night and the meal was extremely disappointing. The main course was overcooked and the pear in red wine was bitter. What a pity!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main part of the Hotel rather than the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RayandJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Good food, good beer, good company, friendly staff, we would deffinatly stay again!barnstable is a cracking place to go shopping, and we found it very easy to amuse ourselfs in the evenings. The hotel situated along side some lovely walking areas that go on for miles.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaySellick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review. We are so glad you had such an enjoyable time both in Barnstaple and with us at The Park Hotel. Should you choose to visit the area again we would love to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay.

Best Regards

Pete Smale
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I spent a very pleasant night in a clean efficient hotel with very friendly and helpful people. The location is good and the check-in and check-out are quick and efficient. Breakfast was good. And well-balanced.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MiltonKeynesKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was our third visit to this hotel and about our twelfth to a hotel that is owned by the Brend West Country Group. We highly recommend any hotel within this group for excellent service and comfort. The staff at The Park were so friendly and welcoming. On arrival our reception was all we could ask for. The dining room staff (especially Steve) went out of their way to please us...amazing!. The room was beautifully cleaned each day by a charming young lady. We thank all the wonderful staff and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you very much for reviewing you latest stay with us. It is lovely to hear such positive comments about both The Park Hotel and The Brend Group. We very much look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Pete Smale
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel is in a good location, reasonably priced. Nice clean room with a lovely bathroom. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. It is only a ten minute walk into the town centre. couldn't find anything to fault. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris48southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Don't be put off by the fact the frontage looks like a car dealership, this is a good place to stay, I found it very friendly with well appointed and clean room and the bonus of the parking at the rear being good. Enjoyed the food and had a relaxing hour in the bar.

Room Tip: A room at the rear overlooking the courtyard is very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Nine of us had the carvery and desert for eight pound each, was blimin andsome. All staff and service were unfaultable. Excellent all round. We didn't stay at the hotel as we are local, but I would of thought if we did stay we would be have been delighted with it. What else can I say apart from get yourself up there and have a carvery you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ptsmythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your review on your recent carvery with us. I am glad you hear that you had such an enjoyable meal and pleased to confirm that we will be continuing our free sweet offer every Sunday night for the rest of the year!
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Barnstaple
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,828 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bideford
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: Taw Vale, Barnstaple EX32 9AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range: £83 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated opposite Rock Park and only a short level walk to the town centre, this modern 4-star hotel offers easy access to the countryside and beaches of North Devon. Guests can use the leisure facilities, including the indoor and outdoor swimming pools of the Park's sister hotel, The Barnstaple Hotel. The Park Hotel is part of the Brend Hotel Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing