We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Visit”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spring Visit”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was a four night mid week stay being a repeat visit following similar visits twice a year for the past three years.Highly recommended. Excellent restaurant. Good food and service. Clean, comfortable and well decorated bedroom. Magnificent on Suite bathroom. This visit again lived up to our expectations.

Room Tip: Personal preference is for a front room overlooking the park. Rooms in the garden suite at the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neville L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you choosing to return to The Park Hotel for another enjoyable visit. It is lovely to hear that we continue to meet your expectations and we very much look forward to your future stays with us.

Best Regards

Pete Smale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    196
    56
    17
    11
See reviews for
112
195
27
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The staff were friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, with a good view over the river and the park. The lounge was comfortable, and the food was very good, both at breakfast and for the evening meal.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bdoggy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Booking by telephone was a delight. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and, after a discussion, upgraded us to a Superior Twin . When we arrived the staff were friendly and eager to help with our bags. The room was clean and quite adequate for us. The breakfasts (we stayed three nights) were good and we were not troubled on the third day by the large party. BUT we chose to eat in the restaurant on the first night and the meal was extremely disappointing. The main course was overcooked and the pear in red wine was bitter. What a pity!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main part of the Hotel rather than the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RayandJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Good food, good beer, good company, friendly staff, we would deffinatly stay again!barnstable is a cracking place to go shopping, and we found it very easy to amuse ourselfs in the evenings. The hotel situated along side some lovely walking areas that go on for miles.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaySellick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are so glad you had such an enjoyable time both in Barnstaple and with us at The Park Hotel. Should you choose to visit the area again we would love to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay.

Best Regards

Pete Smale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I spent a very pleasant night in a clean efficient hotel with very friendly and helpful people. The location is good and the check-in and check-out are quick and efficient. Breakfast was good. And well-balanced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MiltonKeynesKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was our third visit to this hotel and about our twelfth to a hotel that is owned by the Brend West Country Group. We highly recommend any hotel within this group for excellent service and comfort. The staff at The Park were so friendly and welcoming. On arrival our reception was all we could ask for. The dining room staff (especially Steve) went out of their way to please us...amazing!. The room was beautifully cleaned each day by a charming young lady. We thank all the wonderful staff and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing you latest stay with us. It is lovely to hear such positive comments about both The Park Hotel and The Brend Group. We very much look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Pete Smale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel is in a good location, reasonably priced. Nice clean room with a lovely bathroom. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. It is only a ten minute walk into the town centre. couldn't find anything to fault. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris48southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,170 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Taw Vale, Barnstaple EX32 9AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated opposite Rock Park and only a short level walk to the town centre, this modern 3-star hotel offers easy access to the countryside and beaches of North Devon. Guests can use the leisure facilities, including the indoor and outdoor swimming pools of the Park's sister hotel, The Barnstaple Hotel. The Park Hotel is part of the Brend Hotel Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing