We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel with a fantastic location for Barnstaple town”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Hotel with a fantastic location for Barnstaple town”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights s visiting family. The first room we were given (114) was not up to the cleanliness standards I have come to expect from the Brend group and had an awful smell. After talking to a very understanding receptionist we were moved to a much nicer room with very good facilities. We only ate breakfast here but the quality was superb with a fantastic choice of cooked and/or continental. The staff were very welcoming especially the young man with the love of lego (!!) who had a wonderful sense of humour. When we next visit Barnstaple this hotel will definitely be one of choice. For those new to Barnstaple we would love to recommend The Bank as a fantastic restaurant with marvellous menu choice and within walking distance .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    204
    59
    18
    11
See reviews for
128
220
30
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheslyn Hay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

It's nice hotel this one. The location for us is perfect and the rooms are comfortable. The staff are very friendly with a warm welcome at reception, bar and for breakfast. Only stay for 1 night so first impressions are important to returning when next in town. Breakfast was excellent and not your usual buffet. Cooked breakfast was to order so nice and warm and freshly cooked.
Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were really impressed with the hotel. We were staying for my mother in law's 70th birthday party and had the function room
Booked for a dinner and band.

The whole experience was an excellent one. We had an interconnecting room
Which was spotless and enormous! Had a fab view over the park.

I must say thAt the best bit about the stay was the staff. Every single person we encountered was helpful, cheerful and relaxed. It made the whole thing very easy. A special thanks to the man who allowed us to interrupt the pre party organisation and let two excited little girls practice their ballet show- even giving them ribbon to dance with (this greatly improved the show)
There were Lots of children running about at the event and the staff managed to continue service efficiently and still smiling!
Really
Impressed all round- thanks

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmellyCatDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I would like to say that we have never had a bad meal here. The choice of meats and vegetables was excellent, and as always the staff very friendly and helpful. This time we took our elderly mother she was helped at the carvery by a member of staff also our daughter who is vegan was given a really good vegan stir fry with extra veg that had not been cooked in butter when I rang them to book they offered to cook anything vegan that my daughter would like well done Park Hotel we shall come again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your trip advisor report We are pleased that you enjoyed another carvery at the Park Hotel. We hope that you can join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed at the Park Hotel @ 10 yrs ago in the annexe, room was very small, so when we were invited to a motorcycle club St George's weekend we were somewhat apprehensive. What a transformation. Our room was excellent, the new upstairs function room is a credit to the hotel. The staff couldn't do enough for us, Peter deserves a rise! The food was excellent and plentiful. I understand we have booked again for next year, we will be there. Barry and Marcia L

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I have just stayed at The Park for two nights as part of a motorcycle club celebration of St Georges day, including a formal dinner. I cannot speak highly enough of the hotel, with immaculate rooms, wonderful dining and efficient, friendly and helpful staff. One very small problem was dealt with, within moments of being mentioned. I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough. The whole group were so pleased with our event, we have immediately booked to hold it again next year at The Park. We have also used the sister Devon Hotel in Barnstaple for functions before and were similarly pleased. This is where the shared pool and fitness suite is located.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear more positive comments from the Blue Knights Group. We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay (as it seems most your party did!) We are really looking forward to your return next year!

Wishing you all the best for the year ahead

Kind Regards

Pete Smale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just held our St George's weekend at the Park Hotel and the stay was perfect. This was our first function at this hotel and Peter and his team ensured everything ran smoothly which it did. The staff are extremely helpful and polite. The food is fantastic and plentiful.
The stay for our celebration was voted by our attendees as our best yet so we have already booked for next year.
Thank you so much everyone, outstanding!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent break with us. We really enjoyed having your group join us for the weekend and we are all looking forward to your return next year!

Kind Regards

Pete Smale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,765 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Taw Vale, Barnstaple EX32 9AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated opposite Rock Park and only a short level walk to the town centre, this modern 3-star hotel offers easy access to the countryside and beaches of North Devon. Guests can use the leisure facilities, including the indoor and outdoor swimming pools of the Park's sister hotel, The Barnstaple Hotel. The Park Hotel is part of the Brend Hotel Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing