We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked one of the 'garden rooms' at the hotel and found that we were behind the main hotel in a very pleasant annex. The room was of a very good size with plenty of storage space and was very quiet. The staff were all very welcoming and eager to help. Breakfasts were all freshly prepared and there was a very good choice available. The hotel's position in Barnstaple was ideal being only a short walk from the centre of the town.
We had a very enjoyable five day stay in the hotel and would heartily recommend it anybody else that was thinking of staying there.

Room Tip: The Superior Garden Court rooms are well worth the small supplement in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmjones45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review we are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us at The Park Hotel. We are more than willing to deal with any problems that may occur during your stay and do our utmost to make everyone's stay as enjoyable and pleasant as possible.
We look forward to welcoming to back to The Park Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    196
    56
    17
    11
See reviews for
113
195
27
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed over the late May Bank Holiday weekend in a single room in the Garden Court. Really nice quiet room with plenty of space (not like a lot of single rooms where the bed is pushed up against the wall!)
Very good location, short walk to town centre and very friendly staff.
Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice and all freshly cooked.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0ssie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your trip advisor report we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Park Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have had a lovely stay at the Park and will be returning very soon. The hotel is clean, excellent value and well positioned. The town is within easy walking distance so The Park is ideal for those who want to spend a break away without driving.

We have eaten there at all times if the day and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of May in room 209 in the Garden Courtyard. Overall, the hotel was reasonable value, but felt disappointed with the room. It was a standard room, but was tiny - can't think of a smaller hotel room I have stayed in. Much smaller than we were led to believe from the photos on the Park Hotel website. The mattress was also far too soft. Perhaps some of that could be down to personal taste, but even so, it was like sleeping on a bouncy castle. On the plus side, the breakfast was good. Lots of choice and well presented. The hotel's location (about a 5-10 minute walk along the riverside to the town centre) is a strong selling pojnt as is the onsite parking. Not sure I would choose to stay here again though, especially if all the standard rooms are like the one we stayed in.

Room Tip: If you are booking a standard room, check the room size and mattress quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mugsy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Well situated with the town centre only a short walk away along the riverbank, the hotel is clean, comfortable and the food of a high standard. I particularly like the fact that breakfast is not the usual 'serve yourself' buffet. Staff are helpful and friendly. I had a front room overlooking the park - spacious and comfortable (may experience some traffic noise). Nice size bathroom. No lift so if you are not fully mobile this may be a problem.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a nice view but light sleepers may hear the traffic. Room 101 has an air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshhillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
215 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Park Hotel lots of parking, pleasant reception staff and the place felt like a family run establishment.

No lift but managed the flight of stairs to my first floor room.

Large room overlooking the park. Large double, well two singles pushed together which was only an issue as one bed was slightly higher than the other, nethertheless comfortable.
Great beverage pack, hairdryer and a good number of hangers.
The dressing table with mirror was lacking a chair so the mirror was a bit useless.

Bathroom looked new, lovely cast iron bath, great shower and very fluffy towels, shame they were bath sheets as thst would have been perfect. Complementary toilettries that were very nice.

Bar area was quite small, large restaurant with the bar at the front.

Breakfast, usual sort of choice.

On the whole nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Oops clicked on pool bit by mistake no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights s visiting family. The first room we were given (114) was not up to the cleanliness standards I have come to expect from the Brend group and had an awful smell. After talking to a very understanding receptionist we were moved to a much nicer room with very good facilities. We only ate breakfast here but the quality was superb with a fantastic choice of cooked and/or continental. The staff were very welcoming especially the young man with the love of lego (!!) who had a wonderful sense of humour. When we next visit Barnstaple this hotel will definitely be one of choice. For those new to Barnstaple we would love to recommend The Bank as a fantastic restaurant with marvellous menu choice and within walking distance .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,748 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Taw Vale, Barnstaple EX32 9AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated opposite Rock Park and only a short level walk to the town centre, this modern 3-star hotel offers easy access to the countryside and beaches of North Devon. Guests can use the leisure facilities, including the indoor and outdoor swimming pools of the Park's sister hotel, The Barnstaple Hotel. The Park Hotel is part of the Brend Hotel Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing