We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend break”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend break”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Welcoming and friendly staff. Arrived mid-day knowing check in was 14.30 but reception advised the housekeeper and our room was ready within 40 minutes. Brilliant service. Clean and comfortable room, full cooked breakfast. Would welcome a 10am cut off for breakfast, 09.30 is a bit early for a 3* hotel!! Very well run as you would expect from a Brend hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ig1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us at the Park Hotel. Your positive feedback has been relayed to the relevant departments and staff have been praised for their standard of work.

Should you wish to visit the Park Hotel again we would look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Pete Smale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    196
    56
    17
    11
See reviews for
112
195
27
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

From the moment we arrived till the time we left, all the staff were polite and very helpful. I booked 3 rooms, 2 deluxe and 1 Superior. 6 adults and 2 children in the group. Arrived just before 2pm Saturday 19th July 2014. We asked about swimming and the receptionist arranged a voucher at Barnstaple Hotel Swimming Pool, another hotel in the Brend Group. The staff there were also very accommodating. The room we stayed in, a deluxe, 122 overlooked the courtyard car pack at the rear of the hotel. We were also treated to a view of the church tower, next door and hilly scenery. The en-suite was very clean and well stocked with soap, shower gel and shampoo. Ample towels.
The room itself was classic style and there was a few mildly dusty surfaces. Had enough space and a couple of extra chairs. The bed was a bit on the firm side, but ok - understandably all beds are different and everyone has their own likes and dislikes. There was a hairdryer and a fan. Also a kettle and good quality Tea, coffee and hot chocolate sachets. Although we had the fan, it was a very hot weekend and all three rooms did get quite hot. The superior room didn't seem that much bigger than ours, but was at the front of the hotel, overlooking Rock Park. It was a tight squeeze with an additional z-bed and travel cot in there. They had to take out the 2 extra tub chairs to have enough room. Breakfast was buffet style. I think there was an option to ask for something else and I'm sure that the chef would accommodate. A buffet selection of Sausage, Bacon, Hash Brown, Mushrooms, Fried Bread, Baked beans, Tomatoes, Fried eggs and scrambled eggs. A couple of our party did ask for poached eggs. A selection of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts and fruit juices. Toast with selection of jams and preserves. I personally found the breakfast hot and good quality, very tasty. The staff at breakfast were very attentive and served tea and coffee fairly promptly. This was on a Sunday morning and we ate about 8:40am. The young girl dealing with the guests as they came in was very professional. The price we paid was more than we would usually pay for room and breakfast, about £310 for the 3 rooms. But the service was good and it did make an enjoyable stay. It is situated just a short walk from the main square in Barnstaple, near to the shops and Barnstaple Bridge. There are plenty of interesting places to visit locally, Barnstaple, Braunton, Croyde, Woolacombe, Ilfracombe, Saunton Sands and Bideford to name but a few.

Room Tip: Not sure if any of the rooms have air conditioning. This really is a must in the summer for most hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your positive Trip Advisor review. I am pleased to hear that you received such good service during your stay with us at the Park Hotel. All your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments and staff have been praised for there service and hard work.

Should you return to Barnstaple in the future we will certainly welcome you back to the Park Hotel.

Kind regards
Pete Smale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel was clean and welcoming, the menu choices were numerous, interesting and well prepared. Bar prices a bit pricey but so are all Brend hotels in my experience. Wouldn't hesitate to return here again.

Room Tip: None I'm afraid, only stayed one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Campbell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your trip advisor review. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us at The Park Hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any queries and We will ceratinly welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Pete Smale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and overall it was not too bad. Issues were length of service for breakfast on Sunday 45 minutes from order to service and there were only 8 people in the restaurant! Internet was hit and miss, even with the issues with BT during our stay the internet when working would drop out every few minutes. The water pressure in the shower is way too low. Gave up trying to phone reception on three occasions and had to go down personally to get an ice bucket!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirLancelot2966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your trip advisor review. I would like to apologise for the delay in services that you received from the staff during your stay with us at the Park Hotel. I can assure you that this is not our standard procedure. I have looked into the matter seriously and all issues have been dealt with.
With regards to the wifi the whole of Barnstaple had a problem with BT and several reports were logged so I can only apologise for this.
I hope that this does not put you off returning to the Park Hotel in the future as we will certainly welcome you back .

Kind regards
Pete Smale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a basic hotel that does not meet modern expectations. On entering the reception area we were faced with receptionist sitting behind a massive wooden barrier so just top of her head could be seen, I did not expect to be greeted like a long lost relative but a smile and a welcome would have been nice. Some vague instructions were given on how to get to our room and had to be asked to be re given so that we could understand them. The bedroom was clean having what looked like a recent refurbishment. Toiletries were the worst sort of budget affair. The curtains did not fit properly and so did not block out the light. But the worst thing about the room were the beds that were worn out and reminiscent of something bought at a car boot sale - why do the management not realise that a decent bed is a prerequisite of any hotel room ?
There was also no fire escape sign visible from my room.

Room Tip: Go to Premier Inn up the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essexworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your trip advisor review. I am sorry to hear that you did not receive the best possible service from our staff at The Park Hotel. I can assure you that this is not our standard procedure.

We have taken your concerns into consideration and will be dealing with the matters very seriously.

Kind regards
Pete Smale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My room was pristine and comfortable, the lovely bathroom deserves a special mention.The staff were courteous and friendly. Only downside the wi-fi wasn't working and reception didn't mention this when I checked in. Understand systems can malfunction but with so many people reliant on wi-fi would have expected a large hotel to have in place a back-up or reserve system. Didn't eat in so no comment about food and restaurant. Will stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your trip advisor review. We are pleased that you had a comfirtable stay at the Park Hotel. I apologise for you not being informed about the wifi upon check in , I looked into this problem and unfortunately there was a error with the BT internet in Barnstaple. I hope that this does not put you off returning to the Park Hotel in the future as we would certainly welcome you back.

Kind regards
Pete Smale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I visit the park hotel annually and the food gets better and better. Simple but incredibly food and service gets better each year. Definitely recommended for everyone in a good location to town which is less than a five minute walk

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and service at the Park Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and I have praised the staff in the relevant departments.

We hope that you will return to the Park Hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Pete Smale
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,170 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Taw Vale, Barnstaple EX32 9AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated opposite Rock Park and only a short level walk to the town centre, this modern 3-star hotel offers easy access to the countryside and beaches of North Devon. Guests can use the leisure facilities, including the indoor and outdoor swimming pools of the Park's sister hotel, The Barnstaple Hotel. The Park Hotel is part of the Brend Hotel Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing