We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great - would recommend a visit”

The Museum of Barnstaple and North Devon
Ranked #5 of 24 things to do in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brixham
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great - would recommend a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

A very well presented museum with interesting artefacts and it's free, although they do have a donation box. Set at the bottom of Barnstaple town centre, almost opposite The Imperial Hotel.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrixhamJeanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    48
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Free entry is always welcomed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

A very interesting display of what the town and area is all about. From the earliest geological start to the latest developments in the town, this FREE museum is excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TwoPensioners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston Lancashire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“An entertaining hour or two for the children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

My son loves coming here. It is only a small museum, enough for 1-2 hours. The staff are friendly and attentive. There is even a little quiz for the little ones to complete. Last time we visited there was an interactive/ experiment room but it was looking a little tired. On this visit the room has been redesigned, with a Roman theme. How to build a curved archway, build a viaduct, how a catapult works are some of the highlights. Educational fun. Highly recommended. There is even a small cafe it looked nice but we didn't visit on this occasion.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hideh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Education on a rainy day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Its a beautiful building housing some interesting treasures. I didn't have my children with me but they would have enjoyed it. I was warmly welcomed and the gentleman on reception was very friendly and helpful. It is easy to spend some time here, escaping the rain and educating yourself at the same time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank janice p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Museum of Barnstaple and North Devon also viewed

 
Barnstaple, Devon
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to The Museum of Barnstaple and North Devon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing