We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

The Museum of Barnstaple and North Devon
Ranked #5 of 24 things to do in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I had coffee in the cafe in this facility as I had a small amount of time to kill. I wondered into the museum and an hour later realised I was probably going to be late for my appointment. Fasinating place although only small requires more time than you think to view it all. Will have to go back to see rest

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    55
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is an excellent museum and well worth a visit. We were on a holiday last week in a very wet Devon and only went into the museum to get out of the rain, what a surprise we got as we found it so interesting and it is all free. It also has a little gift shop and a small tea room. Don't wait for the rain, go in anyway if you are in the area, you won't be disappointed.

KentGreektraveller

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KentGreektraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

very interesting and informative. the top floor with its history of the local army regiments through the ages was a particular interest.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank colin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good local museum”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a good local museum in a quite small building. The ground floor had the most interest, although at the time we went the undersea section was very dark. Upstairs was interesting if you like military uniforms.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJW133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Small museum but packed with exhibits”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very nice little museum with very obliging staff and a good range of exhibits to suit all tastes. Excellent tea room, reasonably priced. As it's free ( contributions welcome ) it's a great place to while away an hour or two.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Museum of Barnstaple and North Devon also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Barnstaple and North Devon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing