We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hollamoor Farm B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hollamoor Farm B&B
Ranked #3 of 28 Barnstaple B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Have stayed here on two occasions and enjoyed the experience very much. A good antidote to sanitised hotel accommodation. In a good way, this place felt as if it belonged in a Tom Sharpe novel. Ate well and were made very welcome. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    14
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
37
60
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights at Hollamoor farm as I was playing golf at the RNDGC close by.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, but regreted not sampling Caroline's 'cordon bleu' cooking, as I had arranged to eat out each evening. The 'pink' room was lovely and very peaceful. Hope to return one day soon. Fully recommend.

SD

Room Tip: the 'pink' room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My friend and I stayed at Caroline and George's beautiful farm for one night before a wedding in the area. We were immediately made to feel at home with lovely flapjacks and elderflower cordial on the terrace! With University exams imminent, Caroline kindly allowed us to arrive at midday on the Friday so that we could have a whole day revising in the sunshine on the lawn (with Dodo and Nutmeg, the two lovely Jack Russells!). All the home cooked, home grown food was delicious and Caroline and George couldn't have been more welcoming. Having booked just for a stop-over before the wedding we came away feeling as though we had been on a mini holiday! I will definitely be returning - next time for longer to go on some of the beautiful rides Caroline talked of! Thank you again for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at Hollamoor Farm for one night as we were heading to a birthday party nearby would definitely recommend it!
Caroline and George couldn't have been more welcoming, from when we were greeted with tea and flapjacks to when we were given a 'thank you for staying with us' card as we left.
Unlike a lot of B+Bs the breakfast timings here seemed very relaxed and George was happy to cook delicious (freshly laid) eggs as and when we arrived in the dining room.
Our room was spacious and the bed incredibly comfortable.
The house itself is a beautiful property and the added extra of being able to go and see the farm animals was a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hollamoor Farm was selected from AlistaIr Sawday's guide to B&B's. It was everything we expected, from the incredible warmth of welcome by Sir George and Lady Caroline Wrey to the ambience of a Devonshire property with centuries of history entwined with family life behind it.. It was completely relaxing, but there was always a wonderful choice of things to do and see nearby . The Wreys are both accomplished cooks and we joined them for delicious dinners - roast pheasant was our favourite.
In other words, we loved it and hope we can return one day from Australia.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dianajohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at Hollammor Farm whilst I attended a wedding in the local area and I will definitely be making an effort to return with my husband (and dog) for a long weekend. It is a beautiful property, but what stands this accommodation apart from the others are the hosts, Caroline and George. They were extremely welcoming and friendly, I immediately felt at home when I arrived, being greeted with a gin and tonic (after an emotional traffic jam) and homemade dessert. I only wished that I had agreed to have dinner, as it looked outstanding, and all grown on the farm. The breakfasts are delicious, cooked by George, daily newspapers are provided and the rooms are beautifully decorated by Caroline. This property is amazing value for money, I cannot wait to return for a relaxing stay. Thank you so much for such a welcome and for making me feel like one of your family for 2 days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lucky chance that we found this delightful farmhouse for a last minute break. George and Caroline were the perfect hosts and made us feel so very welcome with tea and brownies as soon as we arrived. The food was lovely especially the wonderful eggs for breakfast which were cooked and served by George. Hope to return next year.

Room Tip: We chose to stay in the converted stable room slightly away from the main house. This has ensuite ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barnstaple hotels
2.4 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
2.1 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cedars Inn
Cedars Inn
#1 of 3 in Sticklepath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollamoor Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollamoor Farm B&B

Property: Hollamoor Farm B&B
Address: Hollamoor Farm | Tawstock, Barnstaple EX31 3NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollamoor Farm B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the luxury of being able to ride freely around 400 beautiful acres, with hardly a gate to open.Hollamoor Farm benefits from open fields, farm tracks, woods, lakes and hills all around.Just imagine how wonderful it would be, as a horse lover, to ride your treasured animal along an easily-accessible, 3-mile stretch of a golden-sanded beach at the famous Saunton Sands. Or perhaps even ride in amongst the gentle waves.And, just think how perfect it would be to ride for many miles in the unique National Park of Exmoor, amongst the Exmoor ponies and their foals, and see the magnificent red deer too.Well, come to Hollamoor Farm, and you can enjoy all of this.Horse B&B FacilitiesWe provide the following for you and your horses:A warm and friendly, 18th century Devon farmhouse in which to stayElegant, yet cosy, bedrooms for your rest and relaxationDelicious breakfasts (and dinner if ordered) in the dining room with its unique, seven-foot fireplace with original beams and bread ovenLarge stable for your horse with bedding and hay (to order) if desiredUnlimited grazingLockable tack roomRug-drying roomGroom availableYou are also welcome to enjoy Hollamoor Bed & Breakfast without a horse or pony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hollamoor Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollamoor Farm B&B Barnstaple, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing