We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corner Cafe

The Corner Cafe
Ranked #2 of 137 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Just had the biggest and most delicious breakfast there! Such good value and refreshingly friendly and honest service! We'll be back tomorrow!

Helpful?
Thank CatSutcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo r, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very much for your very positive feedback about your experience at The Corner Cafe.
It is great to hear that you really enjoyed your time with us; and especially the breakfasts, which seem very popular! See you again soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    30
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

When ever we come down to Devon we often stop at Barnstaple and go to the corner café. The food is brilliant and you get great portion sizes for your money and always have a good filling. The staff are also very friendly and will remember you after just a few visits. It's fantastic all round.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 958TOm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo r, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We were really pleased to get your feedback about your visit to The Corner Cafe, and it was great to get your most positive response. The size portions are generous, , but do seem to reflect good value according to our customers; so we are glad you agree too! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cafe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Whenever we stay in Barnstaple we head for the Corner Café for lunch. Home cooked food, cooked to order, delicious menu and plenty of it! Lovely staff and the owner is so welcoming and happy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo r, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a reply on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your feedback, and are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. Do try and come back again soon; a warm welcome awaits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Took my family over form Tasmania to The Corner Café. what a meal we had good English food. The staff were friendly and welcoming, good experience all round.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo r, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Great to hear all the family enjoyed their visit to The Corner Cafe! Thanks so much for your feedback, and for taking the time to post your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have to agree with earlier reviews well worth a visit food great service brilliant we were advised there was a wait so had option to come back later we decided to stay and were updated on how long our food would be, not that long actually. The staff were great the locals really friendly and chatty. We didn't have room for dessert but they looked lovely. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kelleher20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo r, Owner at The Corner Cafe, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We are very glad that you decided to wait during a busy lunchtime when you visited recently, and very pleased that you found all aspects of your time with us to your liking. Thank you for your very positive comments which are much appreciated, and we hope to see you again when you next make a visit to Barnstaple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Corner Cafe also viewed

 
Fremington, Barnstaple
 
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to The Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing