We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little friendly restaurant ”

Everest Gurkha Chef
Get food delivered
Ranked #10 of 188 Restaurants in Barnstaple
Cuisines: Indian, Nepalese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Recommend by a few locals as well as Trip Advisor. Outside appearance is misleading, as is the very simple decor and the fact that there are only 20 covers. The food was very fresh and tasted great - the owners uncle had been a Gurkha so a genuine link with the name
Overall well worth a visit but take your own if you want an alcoholic drink

Date of visit: April 2017
3  Thank SkyDiverValerius
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2017

This was my first time trying Nepalese food. This is a small and very simple unlicensed restaurant, but I understand you can take your own wine. The quality of the food and friendly service more than made up for the basic setting. We will definitely be going again.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bikerbunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2017

What amazing flavours. I have always had an excellent meal here. Reasonable prices and great service.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JC0453
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Wow, what a fantastic curry and great atmosphere! Would highly recommend this place but you definitely need to book. Can't wait to go again 😉😉

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

A quirky small venue that produces sublime curries. Not licensed so BYO and you will need to book especially at weekends.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Glen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Everest Gurkha Chef also viewed

 
Barnstaple, Devon
 

Been to Everest Gurkha Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.