We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in Barnstaple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
sunny dorset
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good stay in Barnstaple”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have recently retuned from staying here, so here is my review...
Having stayed in many different Premier Inns with my family, it is not the best one I have stayed in (The prizes for that goes to Bournemouth Central..Cardiff Central and Christchurch/Highcliffe..
Premiwe Inns. It is certainly not far off though!

Check in was fast and friendly
Both rooms were very clean and had HUGE televisions on the wall
The shower was good and hot.. loved it..
no noise from outside
Choice of firm or softer pillows
Bed comfy.. but maybe a little bit hard for my liking
Breakfast was very nice next door.. had the full works, and it was all kept well stocked up..and was very efficiently served.
Free parking here
Tesco within walking distance..(almost opposite)
The only downside no Air Con in rooms, which does make them hot ,even with the window open.. you notice a big difference in the Premier inns that do have Air Con..
We will definitely return at some point..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelcake71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    254
    106
    26
    20
See reviews for
240
228
39
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I have stayed in a few Premier Inns in the past and this has to be one of the better ones. Ok, its located approx 1 mile outside the town centre, but there is a frequent bus service from the road outside of the hotel or a taxi costs about £5.

On arrival i was booked in with minimal fuss. the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful.

My room was on the top floor of the annex, at the rear of the main hotel building. My room was very clean and tidy and was equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and a massive TV (with Freeview). The bathroom was also very clean.

The bed was very comfy and the room was very quiet (no traffic noise etc).

I did not use the restaurant, but i did have a drink in the bar, whilst i waited for friends. My only complaint (and its not unique to this establishment), is that, despite the bar being not overly busy, empty glasses etc, are left on tables from previous customers. I had to take the empty glasses and cups to the bar my self and the table was very sticky. I know that this is a very trivial matter and it did not reflect upon the hotel.

I was only staying one night, but the price was very reasonable and good value for money. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveccfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

On arrival the house lady was very welcoming, a nice swift check in. Lovely room, everything you need for a stay over. Our room had a big 42 tv. One of the new extra deep matteresses, and tea and coffee on tap!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have stayed at this premier inn many times
This visit we found the hotel premises clean and well kept
The restaurant next door which was table to table was not very clean, tables were sticky to the touch windows covered in dirty hand prints the outside area need fag butts and rubbish clearing up. And desperately needs a repaint
Food was ok but service was very slow as the staff seemed to be rushed off their feet!
Staff were great ! Friendly and welcoming but needed more help

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blusneakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

As my daughter lived in Barnstaple for a year we have always stayed with her. On this occasion She was only visiting so we needed a hotel. We got a fab rate at the Premier Inn so thought we would try it. Its just on the approach to Barnstaple Town Centre which is great as it avoids all the traffic. There is plenty of free parking, a restaurant attached and a tesco over the road. It is a little way from the town centre to walk but only 7 mins or so by car. I am sure there must be a local bus for the summer when parking is difficult. The room was big and very warm (freezing outside). You can control the temperature yourself. Big comfy bed, big TV and as we were there for a few nights they were happy to provide us with extra tea and coffee. Staff very friendly, we were charged twice for our internet but got that refunded on request. It was a fab price and good value for what we paid. Would be happy to stay there again if we visited the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at this Premier Inn on Monday 24th March 2014 for one night. The reception staff were very friendly,and spoke English which is not always the case. A super clean room, and very comfortable bed. It was very close to the main road back to the M5, but you could not here a sound, a very relaxing evening. I had a evening meal in the attached bar and dining room. Not bad for the price, a bottle of house wine at just over £8 is very good these days. I had a steak which was only just about OK a bit tasteless and not cooked how I had asked. My starter was good. Premier Inn's are good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

decent clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Diner next door and very near a good Tescos. Bed not the most comfortable but room was clean and tidy and quiet.Probably the best budget hotel chain available in the area. Good value if you book far enough in advance

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittybit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
2.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
10.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
Address: Whiddon Drive | Barnstaple, Barnstaple EX32 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden sands or green fields? At the Premier Inn Hotel Barnstaple, you're spoilt for choice. You'll find five fab beaches and the wilds of Exmoor all just 30 minutes away. Ride the waves at surf meccas Woolacombe, Saunton Sands and Croyde, or hop aboard a donkey at the historic fishing village of Clovelly. Bargain hunt at Barnstaple's covered market, or hunt crabs off the quay at Appledore. After making a splash, return and refuel in our Table Table restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Directions: Leave M5(J27) and follow the A361 for 38 miles. Situated off the North Devon Link Road (A361) towards Barnstaple town. Turn right at Portmore roundabout. Next to the Barum Gate Table Table. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: EX32 8RY Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Barnstaple
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing