We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“short break”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

very good for a short break or on your way down to Cornwall Very near to town centre and easy access to Motorway. Good parking and quiet surroundings. Easy access to RHS Rosemoor and other gardens of interest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    261
    106
    26
    20
See reviews for
244
229
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had booked a couple of nights at this hotel for a family party. In all, there were 14 of us staying here. Unfortunately, the rooms were spread between the main building and the annexe so we weren't all together despite either being on one booking or with the same booking names.

Checking in was very straightforward (we've stayed in a lot of Premier Inns) and we were told that the hotel had the new hypnos beds which we hadn't been aware of. However, when we went to our room, you could smell the smoke from the corridor. Inside the room, the window was open and a desk fan on full blast, but it was doing nothing for the smell. I asked at Reception for an airfreshener and was told that there wasn't one we could have. There was a good deal of shuffling around of rooms while we tried to get sorted and together as a group (there tends to be a lot of toing and froing for hair dos, biscuits, gossip etc among us) so I figured it was best left. The second Receptionist was more helpful, offering to move us and doing lots of juggling of rooms whilst trying to check in another indecisive family, but in the end it was more important for us to stay with the family, the majority of whom were now in our corridor.

We decided to try and grab a quick pint in the pub next door, but it was absolutely heaving. A great sign for them, not so for us who had just had a long drive down in Bank Holiday weekend traffic. We managed to cobble together some chairs around the high tables, but these weren't suitable for an elderly aunt who couldn't climb up to sit.

My family chose to drive out to get some fish and chips in Barnstaple while the rest had a table in the restaurant booked for 6.45pm. We got back after 8pm and they had only just been served their starters. Again, they had all had a long journey (hence booking the early table) so the wait was unacceptable for them.

The pub remained busy thanks to the football that was being shown, but we managed to stay and have another drink.

The room was quiet (but still stinking, despite us now having bought our own can of air freshener) and clean. There was constant hot water and the hypnos beds were indeed very comfortable.

Breakfast on Sunday morning was faultless. Prompt table service and freshly cooked breakfast (not a hot buffet) as well as continental choices, cereal, croissants etc.

Unfortunately, we left breakfast later on Monday morning and to be honest, it was a farce. We waited 10 minutes to be seated and were told we couldn't have the table we'd asked for as it was reserved for a six (and later occupied by 3..) the continental selection was empty, there was half a loaf of bread for toast, no croissants, no muffins. The coffee was empty and there were no spoons for cereal. The juice was spilled on the floor and the carpet sticky. When we ordered a cooked breakfast, we waited over an hour for it. The other tables around us abandoned the idea of breakfast altogether

This is a nice hotel with some good staff. The pub is no way near big enough to accommodate hotel guests (and seemed to attract locals too) and the service in the restaurant is slow. They do need to address the issue with smoke smells - whether that is from guests who have been smoking in rooms they shouldn't have, smokers sneaking a quick cig out the back by open windows or (!) cleaning staff smoking while they are working. Of our whole party, only our room smelled of smoke so it's likely to be an isolated case. But not even having an air freshener on hand is poor. I do acknowledge the offer to move rooms though, but it should have been checked before it was let -if we had moved, some other poor souls would have had to experience it instead of us as the hotel was full.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizamack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Couldn't ask for more from this Premier Inn, especially as we got it at what I believe is it's cheapest rate. Rooms have recently been modernised and are spotlessly clean, staff very helpful and everything in working order. best to have a car if you stay here as the 25 minute walk into Barnstaple is a bit long. Barnstaple is a great place to base yourself for exploring North Devon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djb34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Bed very hard did not get much sleep was told that all mattress were new. Restaurant needed refreshing up food not very good. Always stayed for years at premier lnns always been very pleased did not enjoy our few days away at this one


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was spotless and very well kept and we had a good nights sleep. Unfortunately the restaurant was a bit of a let down, one evening we waited for an hour and twenty five minutes for our food. Waiters and bar staff were friendly but it was the waiting times that let the restaurant down.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AverageJoe90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I'm a big fan of Premier Inns but this was the worst one I have stayed in, although saying that it was still acceptable internally and the staff were as friendly and competent as always. The gardens were very overgrown and in need of a good weeding and grass cutting. It all looked a tad run down.
We arrived on the Wednesday on a meal deal package, great value but on our first night the fish fryer had broken and we were unable to have fish or scampi. We left on Saturday and the fryer was still out of order, not overall a disaster but it did limit our choices from the set menu.
There was a gentlemen there that tried to engage everyone in conversation. He had been at the Premier Inn for 5 months following the removal of his leg because of drug addiction. He was waiting to be rehoused by the DSS, whilst a pleasant enough chap, we were unable to enjoy a quiet drink outside because he would plead lack of money and ask directly for cigarettes etc.
I would go back again as the hotel is in a great location to serve all of North Devon and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We all enjoyed our stay,,Will recommend it to our friends,It was very handy for us ,we didn't have to go far to where we wanted to be.All in all it was in the perfect place for us,Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
2.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
564 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,484 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
520 reviews
8.2 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
Address: Whiddon Drive | Barnstaple, Barnstaple EX32 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden sands or green fields? At the Premier Inn Hotel Barnstaple, you're spoilt for choice. You'll find five fab beaches and the wilds of Exmoor all just 30 minutes away. Ride the waves at surf meccas Woolacombe, Saunton Sands and Croyde, or hop aboard a donkey at the historic fishing village of Clovelly. Bargain hunt at Barnstaple's covered market, or hunt crabs off the quay at Appledore. After making a splash, return and refuel in our Table Table restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Directions: Leave M5(J27) and follow the A361 for 38 miles. Situated off the North Devon Link Road (A361) towards Barnstaple town. Turn right at Portmore roundabout. Next to the Barum Gate Table Table. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: EX32 8RY Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Barnstaple
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing