We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Could be better”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stay in travel lodges all the time but this one is looking tired, carpets stained & marks on the walls. It was also quite noisy from passing traffic. The receptionist was very friendly. We ate in the restaurant, we waited ages for our meal and we're disappointed with what we had. Although you always know,what you're going to get with a Premier Inn this one could do with updating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    260
    106
    26
    20
See reviews for
244
229
39
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Good value, comfortable bed and plenty of space in the family room. Clean, with friendly staff.
Was rather hot in the room even with the window open and fan on. Plenty of car parking and quiet even with the window open.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsManda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Friendly welcome from all the staff that we encountered. Excellent service in the restaurant at breakfast and dinner. Range and quality of food was what you would expect from this type of hotel. The only downside was the lack of air conditioning in the bedroom and, given the weather conditions, the rooms stuffiness.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
499 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and both nights found it difficult to sleep in the heat of the room. They do not have air conditioning and the window only opens at the bottom for 100mm or so.
The rooms, as a result, are airless and hot. I have complained about this before but they do not seem to have addressed this issue - I am not the only one of our group who complained.

The beds are ridiculously high at around 72 cms!!! Who designed them? I was nervous during the night when I woke up [due to the heat] as I thought that if I fell off the bed it would be a long way to fall! Tall beds are NOT clever and are a daft idea. Whatever made them decide that this was the thing to do. You cannot sit on the bed without first jumping up - it is stupid and ridiculous.

The staff, however, are delightful and very efficient and friendly.

The restaurant is the same as all the Table Table restaurants. I would imagine that most of it is delivered to reheat. The choices are limited and boring. The desserts are childish and not at all dainty which is very offputting. There is a lot of deep fried options which we do not like really. Just bog standard chain rubbish. Edible but not memorable. They had run out of two of the items we wanted which was disappointing. The breakfasts, however, are great and cooked individually to order.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perle369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A very pleasant stay. The hotel is v good ,and modern but could be improved with air con in the bedrooms .Also there is no information at the hotel about access to the Tarka Trail cycle route which is a wonderful local attraction .The route as it happens run from directly outside the hotel....cycle route number 3 .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have previously stayed at this hotel without problem. However we forgot to collect my wife's iPhone charger and despite several attempt to get this back we are still waiting for the hotel to contact us so that this matter can be resolved. We found staff unhelpful I am sorry to say.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here with several colleagues for one night. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable, with efficient and friendly staff.
The attached bar/restaurant was Ok and the food was satisfactory, but the service was slow, but courteous.
On the evening we visited, we returned from a function abs decided to have a "night-cap", yet the bar had been closed early and even as residents we were refused service.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nozbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
2.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
563 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,483 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
519 reviews
8.2 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
Address: Whiddon Drive | Barnstaple, Barnstaple EX32 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden sands or green fields? At the Premier Inn Hotel Barnstaple, you're spoilt for choice. You'll find five fab beaches and the wilds of Exmoor all just 30 minutes away. Ride the waves at surf meccas Woolacombe, Saunton Sands and Croyde, or hop aboard a donkey at the historic fishing village of Clovelly. Bargain hunt at Barnstaple's covered market, or hunt crabs off the quay at Appledore. After making a splash, return and refuel in our Table Table restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds. Directions: Leave M5(J27) and follow the A361 for 38 miles. Situated off the North Devon Link Road (A361) towards Barnstaple town. Turn right at Portmore roundabout. Next to the Barum Gate Table Table. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: EX32 8RY Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Barnstaple
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing