We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“No complaints!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Obviously it's not 5 star, but it was perfect for a place to sleep and shower whilst visiting Devon for a wedding.
It was clean and comfortable. There was hardly any noise considering this hotel is in a services on a busy road.
There's a KFC opposite and a Spar in the garage a few yards away if you needed any essentials.
Plenty of parking.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBowyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    90
    32
    7
    16
See reviews for
97
78
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Easy access to location just off the roundabout. Staff friendly and helpful. Room clean and tidy and functional. Shame there wasn't a hair dryer in the room but everything else you would expect was. Bathroom steamed up quite dramatically which made shaving a challenge. Probably nothing to do with the travelodge but the fence at the rear of the building could have had a gate to allow people to access Macdonalds and Sainsburys more safely rather than having to walk on a busy road(with no pavement)

Room Tip: I don't think there is a difference in the room locations as they are all on a quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We took my children to Devon to see family and paid for a family room so my eldest would enjoy the hotel experience rather than sleeping at family's we paid almost £100 for the family room but when we arrived we got a double room with camping beds for the kids witch I think is descracefull

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Mathew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This Travelodge outshines the other two I've stayed in by far. The room (116) is absolutely huge, looking out over the carpark, but also lovely green fields. Though it is near the road, there's basically no noise at all in the room. The room has everything you need for a comfortable stay, including a bath. It also has a fan and a tv with lots of channels if you feel like a night in. It's 3 miles from Barnstaple town centre, but a taxi is only 6 pounds. The staff are friendly and helpful, and there is an all night garage and a KFC in the complex also. There is also a big Sainsbury's across the road from the hotel, so even though there isn't a restaurant or bar in the hotel, everything you need is quite nearby. I'd stay here again if I was in Barnstaple, which is a lovely location, though you are a little bit limited in what you can do here without a car.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a ground floor room as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleM7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Don't use Room 101 or anywhere near that room. Very noisy with rubbish being taken out early and generator and air conditioning on all night long! Take ear plugs and good luck. New beds are nice but prices have gone up to pay for refurbishment. Travelogue now not vfm!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
3 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback Bob R. We want all of our customers to have a good night sleep so we are truly sorry to learn you were disturbed by the noise from the generator outside, all of our facilities are required to be quiet and fully functional. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel management team so that they can look into this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had an overnight stay when we were in the area, so that we could visit a part of the north Devon coast that we had not seen for years. You will spot the big BP petrol station before you notice the hotel, which lies behind it. We were received well at reception. The room was clean, quiet and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. There was a breakfast offer - cereal, muffin etc in box. But, that had little appeal, so we went to the nearby Sainsbury store, where there is a café that opened at 07.00. The cooked breakfast there is very acceptable. It's a couple of minutes in the car and is walk-able, but, it is in an area that is geared to cars, not pedestrians.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was one of the better Travelodges I have stayed in, but bearing in mind it is only a few years old, it still should be fresh and clean looking. It was basic but good enough for an overnight stay.
One of the lamps was broken, the heater didn't work and I had to re tune the T.V, to get any channels at all.The staff were lovely, polite and helpful though. The new bed was extremely comfortable! It was also very quiet considering it was near a busy road.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezziejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnstaple
1.6 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
613 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,534 reviews
7.1 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,765 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hollamoor Farm B&B
Hollamoor Farm B&B
#3 of 29 in Barnstaple
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel

Property: Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Address: Roundswell Services A39 North Devon Link Rd | Roundswell Services, Barnstaple EX31 3RZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Barnstaple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel Devon
Travel Lodge Barnstaple
Barnstaple Travelodge
Barnstaple Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing