We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The new Premier Inn is a welcome arrival for Durham given the severe lack of good quality, well priced and readily available accommodation in the city centre! We've spent many occasion stuck in an average B&B miles from anywhere when visiting the city. The hotel is perfectly placed within walking distance of the city centre and Durham Cathedral so no need to worry about taxis or public transport. Only slight drawback was the lack of free, on-site parking so we had to park in a nearby public car park and feed the meter, and whilst it was really cheap it proved a bit of a pain especially early on a Sunday morning. The hotel restaurant is pretty good and good value although there are loads of eateries within easy reach of the hotel. You won't forget the breakfast - its amazing, ask for the sausages!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidpjwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,420 - 1,426 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

We were very impressed both with the high standard of the accommodation and the excellent quality of the food.The staff were amongst the friendliest we have ever com across.We certainly intend to make another visit.
fm&jeg

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frederick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Excellent location Very friendly staff. Good value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinkfieldBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Storing facility - free. We were in dispair when all taxi companies in town had refused to come in less than 15 minutes and we had a train to catch, then a pllane, and then the hotel manager arranged for a taxi in only 5 minutes.
Reception are very friendly and fun. Restaurant are putting a kind of a show with little wooden slates with menu items written on.
The sundae is delicious and HUGE.
And Durham is full of typical pubs and traditional food and drink is served everywhere. A place worth visiting.
I recommend the hotel for the service, budget price and location. Taxi from the station is only 3,40.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Good value standard hotel. Very clean, modern with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is not luxurious but sufficient and reasonable quality. Only minor complaint is that I could not find the driving direction to the hotel. There is no sign post within Durham, and the hotel is not easy to locate by driving even though it's located within city centre. You have to drive down a slip road before crossing the bridge down into the valley. The instruction for hotel guest parking in the adjacent public car park could have been more prominent in the car park and also stated on hotel website and confirmation email.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinksg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Myself and partner stay at this hotel oftern, the staff are fantastic lady chris helped us so much on our last vist taxis directions even kept a check on our flights always smiling pleasant person, all members of staff were nice friendly.
Our room was clean very comfortable cleaned daily maids always spoke, food excellent can not fault this hotel one of the best premier inns iv stayed in

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel many times over the last 3 years whilst our daughter was at Uni in Durham and on each occasion the staff were really friendly without exception and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were as we have always come to expect from Premier Inns clean and of a good standard. The location of the hotel is fantastic for restaurants, parking, nearness to all university buildings and the bonus was an excellent leisure centre next door!

Room Tip: Never had a problem with choosing any of the rooms because none really have a fabulous view but mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
443 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Address: Freemans place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £53 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing