We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
NW England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Great location, right in the heart of Durham. 5 minutes from Market Square and Cathedral.
Parking a few yards away - reduced prices for hotel patrons £7.50 for 24 hours.
Efficient and friendly check in.
Staff throughout the hotel treated us with genuine warmth.
Room was spacious and ultra clean. The bed was really comfortable with a choice of hard and soft pillows.
Stayed with friends - a small but nice area to meet/relax in and bar was open until 2am!
Had not booked in advance but enjoyed a wonderful 'continental' breakfast which included porrige, cereals, toast, a variety of breads and cakes, a selection of conserves, yoghurts, fresh and dried fruits and unlimited teas and costa coffee! The cooked breakfasts looked lovely too.

Recommended? YES!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viatora9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    502
    113
    25
    21
See reviews for
334
649
98
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I went with my partner and four year old son and had one of the family rooms at the above.

Location
Right in the heart of Durham. 5 minutes from Market Square and Cathedral. 10 Mins from Train Station. And right next door to the main night time strip so good venue for those hen and stag do's as well. So location really is fantastic. Only issue is on the Friday/Saturday if you leave the window open you will get a bit of background noise / music. Window shut nothing.

Rooms
As per spec to be honest. Extra bed for my son was very good. Rooms include shower/bath and full tea/coffee facilities. Only issue was the slight hint of smoke. We opened window during day bit to be honest it did remain. For non-smokers slightly irritating at times.

Breakfast
While not included in price fantastic value and I would recommend.

Overall a good hotel and worth its 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TartanInvasions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

First off, this was our first time staying at a Premier Inn, and I wasn't sure what to expect from this budget chain. The location was great, close to restaurants, shops, bars etc... We were treated very warmly by everyone there, you definitely couldn't fault the staff at all! The things that let it down were the breakfast (which is quite pricey and a bit basic, I had higher expectations considering the price), some of the things in the room (like the loo roll, which is a horrid single sheet dispenser like you see at a train station), and the noise outside on weekends (not the hotels fault obviously). So, did it deserve a 4 of 5? Yeah, actually, we slept pretty well 3 out of 4 nights, the staff made it seem like nothing was too much trouble, and the price for the room was very cheap compared to some places we've stayed in the UK.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Great location, 2 minute check in, friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel. Parking fifty yards away at reduced prices for hotel patrons £7.50 for 24 hours. Room was spacious and ultra clean. The bed was really comfortable with a choice of hard and soft pillows.
We dined in the restaurant and shared mixed views of the food but to be fair it was well presented and the service was excellent. Would we stay here again? A big yes

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patron116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This was my first visit to a Premier Inn. I have to admit that I was expecting the usual budget standards (ie. not great), but was pleasantly surprised. The bed size and comfort and the choice of pillows were great and superior to many a 3* / 4*. Also good to see a decent bath in the bathroom, which is very much appreciated after a long day. The family rooms in this PI have enough room to easily accomodate the additional childrens beds. My only negative was that the price (£72 / night midweek) seems high for a budget chain.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2012

room, shawer bath, service average but the worset was the window in the room was facing to the noisy pub (restaurant). The next minus is just 30 minuts free wi-fi.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxy5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Social Media at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Great location with staff who are some of the best I have encounted and would not be out of place in a leading top class hotel. With special mentions for Donna and Kieron who demonstrate a level of service only found in 5*. The resturant serves good quality fresh food however a greater choice of salads would be good. Parking a little expensive in the Europarks

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliej2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Property: Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing