We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durham what a disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

centrally located, parking is £7.50 a night extra in a car park situated behind the hotel. The family room was quite tight on space and the bathroom shabby. okay all in all for a budget stay but noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstenlorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,314 - 1,320 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

Don't come here if you want to socialise.

A supercilious arrogant jobs worth. Prevented me and my family from enjoying a family celebration. Otherwise a nice place to stay in a lovely town with wonderful people.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chalkie421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at the Premier Inn Durham on the way back from Scotland. It was quite easy to find, and parking was available at the secured multi-storey car park next to the hotel for £7.50.
The room was nice and quiet, and the beds were comfortable. We thought the bathroom was a bit tired though, perhaps needed a bit of an update.

The restaurant is quite small (presumably as the hotel is in a city with a lot of restaurants) so breakfast was a mix of self-service (cold food) and staff taking orders. This seemed to work well but I expect it can get very busy on some mornings!

Hotel location is excellent, very close to the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I was at this Premier Inn from Friday to Sunday, the staff were ok but the noise was really terrible- which was disappointing because having read a couple of reviews - i was hoping that it would be ok. I was in one of the ground floor rooms. The room was tidy and the usual Premier Inn fare but the noise on both nights were persistent until 2am. I complained but was refused a refund. Looking on twitter, it seems that quiet a few people have had similar experiences. I have also been approached for feedback by the hotel but I'm still waiting for their reply. Am really disappointed. It's a beautiful city - but stay somewhere else or chance your arm at getting a better room.

Room Tip: avoid the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelloWorld5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing.

It is a shame that your stay was disrupted by actions of other guests; please be assured that the hotel staff will do all they can to prevent disturbances like this in the future.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Having stayed in the Premier Inn in numerous cities it was obviously my first choice hotel when my daughter decided to attend the University open day. We booked in advance so were able to get a 'saver' deal which was good value for money. We arrived after a long train journey from Cardiff to Durham and received the warmest welcome imaginable. To say it cheered us up is an understatement!

The room was very clean and comfortable - the key selling point for me when booking a hotel. A minor blip on our stay was receiving a cold meal, it was dealt with promptly by an apologetic waitress, so was not a major issue, similarly having breakfast at the busy 8.30-9.00 slot meant that our cooked breakfast was also slightly tepid however saying that the menu selections are very good and the restaurant staff very friendly and helpful.

When you book ta Premier Inn room, you know what to expect and if my daughter decides to attend the university next year I'm absolutely sure that we will become regular guests of the Premier Inn Durham city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelleEvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Good central location with access to a nearby car park. Usual Premier Inn experience inclduing bar, resturant and Ben & Jerry's ice cream vending machine. One side of the hotel faces a number of very noisy bars with music 'til very late. This is further exacerbated by good timers and revellers, who are never the quietest on their way home..

Room Tip: Aviod facing the bars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

When you book to stay at a Premier Inn, you know what to expect. No exposed oak beams, themed bedrooms or historical artefacts; the decor is bland, the bedrooms plain and the furnishings minimalist. But the rooms are clean, thoughtfully designed, modern and light, and the beds comfortable. The TV will work, there will be power point for the laptop and clean fresh towels in the bathroom. Premier Inns have a good reputation of providing predictable quality to a specification - ideal for the business visit needing a close to city- or town-centre location. And the Durham Premier Inn met all of these expectations.
Except that at Durham Centre they exceeded these expectations by providing a check-in that was friendly, well-informed and efficient. And the breakfast was quick and tasted home cooked. Check-out was particularly efficient - and friendly. The location is mid-way between the railway station and the Cathederal area, close to the river - just where we needed to be.
Even though my room was next to the lift area, the night-time was silent, so fears about noise were thankfully unfounded! The room had controllable aircon, so it could be as cold or as hot and stuffy as I selected!
This is porbably the best Premier Inn I have ever stayed in, and if I return to Durham on business, I shall probably stay here again! 10/10 to the staff!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAGBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
478 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,210 reviews
3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Address: Freemans Place Walkergate | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £58 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing