We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay in durham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“my stay in durham”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

we stayed in premire inn in durham walkergte.... very nice stay in deed..near town centre was very helpful.. also near pubs and restraunts.. and staff or very helpful and friendly. i will be return for short brak again very soon . we enjoyed that much .. beamish was very good and the hotel give us vouchers with 25% off very good indeed.. the only complaint really is the car park when our ticket woulden work after the hotel validated it,, but it did not spoil our stay.. higly recommended by me and my wife

Room Tip: 4th floor seemed quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen i l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    524
    119
    27
    21
See reviews for
357
671
101
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here for one night in June. Premier Inn do very well in maintaining their standards at a national level and this was no different. A very comfortable clean hotel room and bed, great breakfast, and friendly staff. The room I had was very quiet, and its also right in the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wngstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed here to help my student get settled in Durham University. The hotel is very good for that. Great location close to University and in a pinch you can walk to the train station. Very clean. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Close also to a number of fantastic restaurants and pubs. Lovely bar and good breakfast plan.

Room Tip: Do not take Room 1 - it is close to recycling bins outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We were agreeably surprised at the standard of this budget hotel. The location was ideal for all the attractions in Durham City. The welcome and efficiency of the young man on reception is to be commended. The room was spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. Parking in the nearby multi-storey car park was most convenient for a city centre hotel and at £7.50 - good value. The only downside was the noise of revellers at 2am, but that is not the fault of Premier Inns.
Breakfast was very good although my wife and I would prefer not to be referred to as "Guys".
However, all in all our stay was hassle-free and most comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warkworthrotarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This was a real find. Really clean and new with excellent food and great location. Staff were first class. I stupidly booked the dinner bed and breakfast deal without checking our train times - we were scheduled to arrive after the restuarant stopped serving! They could have done a 'Fawlty Towers' and told me the kitchen was closed, but when I phoned a very kind lady told me that if I pre-ordered from the menu she would have it ready for us. Within 5 minutes of checking in, two delicious meals arrived with an, 'if you need anything else just phone through'. Better service than I've had at 4/5 star hotels. I don't know what 'celebrating' Chalkie421 planned but I can't believe this hotel has any jobsworths and it was probably in the interests of other guests that they intervened.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and it was ok - but that was mid week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemmah283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The hotel is in the middle of Durham. Excellent for the city amenities. It was a very busy weekend due to students enjoying their freshers week. Staff were very pleasant and were very efficient when we requested a change of room after the first night. Note - if you are not out partying in the city at the weekend ask for a room at the leisure centre side of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

centrally located, parking is £7.50 a night extra in a car park situated behind the hotel. The family room was quite tight on space and the bathroom shabby. okay all in all for a budget stay but noisy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstenlorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,081 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Property: Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing