We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed here by chance as no reservation made. It was busy so suggest pre booking well in advance to get best price. I think we payed slightly more than we wanted to but we had to stay somewhere. I've never used premier inn before, Always try to give the chains a wide birth but I was very pleasantly surprised. Good, clean, comfortable, v. good breakfast and excellent staff. Good central location and parking was just out the back which you get 24h parking for slightly less if you stay here.
As a previous reviewer says, it's not a romantic break but it was perfect for a central sight seeing overnight.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    509
    113
    26
    21
See reviews for
341
656
99
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed here with a group of people after a night out. Works out about the same price as getting a taxi home! Excellent central location for bars and restaurants. The rooms are a decent size and very clean. I would not stay here for a special occasion or romantic break but it's very convenient for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 79Happycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed here for a few days city break in July’12 – a very pleasant stay.
Great location for walking around the city, varied restaurants and the people of Durham are friendly.
Took the TA reviewers advice and got there for 3:00PM and asked for a quiet room.
Staff were polite and efficient. Breakfast is waiter service for the hot food and buffet for the remainder – saw Raddison Hotel guests walking over the bridge to have breakfast here!!.
We have stayed in 4 star hotels that have less going for them than this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed weekend of 22nd & 23rd of Sept, excellent location right in the city centre.Does not have it's own parking but you get discounted parking at rear in the multi storey (works out at £7 per 24hrs). Staff are a credit to the company, very professional and attentive with everything explained on arrival. Room was clean and comfortable. Set to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simpppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012

we stayed in premire inn in durham walkergte.... very nice stay in deed..near town centre was very helpful.. also near pubs and restraunts.. and staff or very helpful and friendly. i will be return for short brak again very soon . we enjoyed that much .. beamish was very good and the hotel give us vouchers with 25% off very good indeed.. the only complaint really is the car park when our ticket woulden work after the hotel validated it,, but it did not spoil our stay.. higly recommended by me and my wife

Room Tip: 4th floor seemed quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen i l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here for one night in June. Premier Inn do very well in maintaining their standards at a national level and this was no different. A very comfortable clean hotel room and bed, great breakfast, and friendly staff. The room I had was very quiet, and its also right in the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wngstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed here to help my student get settled in Durham University. The hotel is very good for that. Great location close to University and in a pinch you can walk to the train station. Very clean. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Close also to a number of fantastic restaurants and pubs. Lovely bar and good breakfast plan.

Room Tip: Do not take Room 1 - it is close to recycling bins outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Property: Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing