We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Problem with booking, very noisy, decent room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Problem with booking, very noisy, decent room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I booked two nights at this hotel via the non-refundable rate. As it turned out I couldn't make the first night, so spoke to the hotel to tell them and say I'd be arriving Saturday morning not Friday night - mainky because I didn't want them to cancel the entire booking because I wasn't there on Friday.

When I got there on Saturday there was no room available - this despite me still paying for the room on Friday. Staff were apologetic.

Nice room, no faults.

My room faced the street at the front of the hotel, and it seemed quite noisy even during the day. I actually thought the window was open, but it wasn't. Noise from the street (shouting etc) was unbelievable, even sleeping with earplugs in. Certainly noisy beyond 2am in the morning. I had to leave very early next day so not a great experience.

I wouldn't stay here again because of the noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batters22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    493
    107
    24
    21
See reviews for
327
628
97
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
600 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently - it was Saturday and Sunday so we had booked weeks in advance. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful with a good sense of humour and we were allocated a second floor room at the quiet side of the hotel facing the sports centre across the road. The room was large and very clean, as with most Premier Inns. The hotel was very near to the city centre - about 5 minutes walk away - and there were bars and restaurants close by. There were no parking facilities but the multi-storey car park at the back of the hotel is discounted for Premier Inn guests. We ate breakfast there both days - the Continental was adequate but the full breakfast was excellent. The bar and restaurant are a bit on the small side and the drinks were expensive but the other couple and ourselves still managed to enjoy our stay and will be back. Durham city is beautiful.

Room Tip: rooms near the sports centre and swimming pool are more quiet - request one on check-in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Spent one night here in October on a trip around Yorkshire using Premier Inns (others were Harrogate and York).

Excellent location by the river and a nice walk into town centre. The room was, as usual, excellent and very clean. Staff friendly and car park convenient - though I noted other reviewers got a parking discount - this wasn't suggested to us although I did ask about parking!

We never eat the breakfasts on offer as they are usually expensive - instead we got excellent bacon and sausage butties (full Eng on offer) in one of the cafes in Durham.

Lovely city and enjoyed our stay - would recommend both hotel and city to anyone on a short break.

Got the room for a reasonable price - being retired we can book in advance and it is well worth doing that if you can.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed for a week in this hotel because I wanted to avoid the unpleasant experiences of my previous stays in B/B that were substandard. This Premier Inn offered a good price and a perfect location in downtown Durham. They were right in both aspects, but there were other elements that were not that good. The room was comfortable, but the washroom was not properly cleaned. It smelled like urine and I noticed that it was because the toilet was dirty. I ended up buying detergent in a nearby supermarket and cleaning it up myself. Another thing was the breakfast. I paid for the breakfast option and went down to the restaurant the next day just to wait for about 20 minutes for a table. When I finally get a table and ordered I had to wait for 30 minutes to get the food. On top of everything, there is only one expresso machine for the whole restaurant, ergo, the line to get that cup of coffee is always long. Finally, they made me pay the week stay up front, which I found unusual. My general impression is that it could have been better for a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrodrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

One night in sunny Durham. The hotel was booked late so we had a disabled access room, this meant one walk in shower in a massive wet room of a bathroom. I like premier inns, you know what you are going to get, a bit of luxury on a budget. The staff were all great and very helpful, with a good sense of humour and we were even asked if our breakfast was ok whilst we were eating. enjoyed it.

Room Tip: i would get a room above ground floor and not a disabled access room if you can/dont need to
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Nice and clean room at a good location. Service at check-in was good but at the bar and in the restaurant (we only had breakfast) it was terrible; slow and uninterested personnel. WiFi was far from stable, both the 30 minute free as well as the paid version.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Hotel was very well located in a quiet street almost in city centre. Room and bathroom were very clean ,linen and towels excellent . Reception staff were extremely helpful with local visit advice and parking in adjacent parking lot was discounted for hotel guests. Restaurant offered good value choice of breakfast (continental or full buffet ).
Handicap rooms were available and follow up by reception staff was excellent and helpful.
Payment of room cost on arrival is a good concept

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randhMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Property: Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing