We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to lay your head”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was the first time we had stayed at any Premier Inn, very impressed with the service by the staff. The disabled room was very spacious so our wheelchair had no problems in manoeuvring round the room, there is a wet room configuration, all in all very much like home and we will certainly give consideration to using this chain again in the future.

Room Tip: The hotel offers a discount on using the adjacent car park, but you must have the ticket franked by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocky528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

we stayed in room 127 we have stayed there before it is close to the river and bars DONOT stay in this room as there is about 12 aircon machines below this room we did complain they offered to move us just before we left the hotel to meet up with friends they told us we could move rooms but we had to be quick about this as the other people whos room we would be taking would be arriving soon so they could have the NOISY room we said NO as we ddint think that would be the right thing to do ,we did not get a good nights sleep

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Experienced a very nice stay at the premiere inn this time. Located very close to the market area and right adjacent to the gala center... It's a value for money.

Toni (the executive at the hotel) was brilliant and couldn't assisted me any better with boarding and getting online on my laptop computer .. Thanks Toni!

My room was facing the gala center but you may want to ask for the room with Windows facing the river.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arvindb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is the second time i have stayed at this hotel, and i must say its just absolutly brilliant! very comfy and the staff are super super helpful and friendly!!! I have been going to durham 2-3 times every year because i have family up there and its a great night out,I used to stay in the Marriot at the bottom of old elvet. The price compared to the Marriot is obviously miles better at the be honest the staff at the premier inn are far better than any at the Marriot. The location is PERFECT! you couldnt ask for a better placed hotel! The ONLY niggle i have witht this hotel is the car park. The fact that the car park isnt a premier inn one and you have to pay for it, annoys me!!! Yes you get a discount from the front desk but a 24hr stay in the car park with discount is still £7.70!! Saying that the car park is manned 24hrs and the guards are very friendly. Overall, if you are going to durham, PLEASE stay here, its great! dont do what i used to do and go the a more expensive hotel because you think it will be 'more comfortable' because its not! Fab hotel, see you very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on a recent trip to Durham to visit friends and family. The Premier Inn is located on the riverside, although unfortunately there is now some construction taking place opposite the hotel. The hotel is in very close proximity to the bars and restaurants and theatre of the Walkergate complex, which is a very short walk from the Market place and then onward to the Cathedral.

The staff are very friendly and the rooms very clean and comfortable. Although we did not eat in the hotel, we did take advantage of the bar, which was a nice area with competitively priced drinks.

The only negative is that the road outside of the hotel sees the overspill from the bars and clubs and at about 2am on both Friday and Saturday there are quite a of of drunk people trying to start fights with each other and being extremely noisy. This is not really the fault of the hotel, but no one wants to wonder if they should call the police about a fight outside their hotel when they are on holiday.

Room Tip: A room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityStitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from a 2 day break in Durham . Enjoyed a comfortable stay at the Premier Inn , Durham City Centre which is around 10 mins walk from Railway Station with numerous restaurants/City attractions in close proximity .Clean , well appointed rooms with all staff very helpful . Good breakfast/ other eating options available on site .

Room Tip: Rooms looking on to river are quieter than those at rear which look on to a number of local restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The Durham City Centre Premier Inn is located, as its name suggests, right in the heart of Durham City. It is a wonderful location as one can walk to all the major attractions including the Cathedral and Castle and enjoy walks along the riverbanks which are right in front of the hotel. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms are of typical Premier Inn standard - perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean. The hotel has a bar and restaurtant and Costa coffee on site. In summary, this place is well worth staying in. Only drawback is no car park - but you get concessionary rates at the public carpark nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,193 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
471 reviews
3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Address: Freemans Place Walkergate | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £43 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing