We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sue and family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a very friendly greeting on arrival. Room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was fresh, tasty and wholesome. The front desk were very friendly and helpful. They gave us extra towels and booked us a pre-booked taxi cab for the following days trip. Very near to the train station and the city centre. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,057 - 1,063 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Was staying on business for the week and had a room on the third floor which was nice and spacious. The only thing against the room is; I stayed in another Premier Inn (in Surrey) the week before and their TV was bigger and also had a sofa instead of a chair in the room. I preferred the sofa as was easier to unwind after work rather than a chair.

there was a menu change during the week which caused slight disruption, as meal times were extended, however the new menu is a lot better so was worth the wait.

there was a couple of small issues, surrounding meal vouchers not being applied on the right days, but this was sorted out swiftly.

majority of staff members were fantastic, odd one here or there that seemed a bit lazy and not focused, but they seemed to be in the managers radar.

all of the managers were very good at keeping on top of the staff and making sure all customers were being seen to, and all the waiting staff were brilliant - always smiling and happy and making sure everything was OK.

There was a slightly older lady that served in the morning and was on reception a couple of times and she was brilliant - not being agest here, but she was a good 30 years older than majority of other serving staff and she had the same drive and happiness as the rest of them.

only one real problem (not even really a problem) - the freeview needs retuning i think. Film4 isn't on the right channel

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intothefire83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here Aug bank holiday (sat) for one night.

Check in was quick and staff very helpful.

We booked through booking.com, which automatically meant we were booked in to a disabled room. The staff told us this happens quite a lot. We were happy to move, in case the room was needed by someone who needed it, but there were no spare rooms hotel was fully booked.

Unfortunately the bed in the room, as it was low & was very flat, uncomfortable and was in fact two beds pushed together, with a big gap. shame as all else was fine. was just very uncomfortable bed.

Such a shame as have stayed in many premier inns and we love the big comfy beds.

Overall hotel seemed nice, we did not eat there so can not comment.

I do feel although was given a slight discount on the parking. It should be something that is included in the price of the room! As we were not made aware at the time of booking that it would be an extra £10 odd to park overnight.

Location is great, right in the city centre clubs and bars restaurants all on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieDannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

A nice hotel, in a very good location and good value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good but the hotel was quite busy and they were understaffed which meant the service suffered at dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed at this property with 2 adults and 3 children (all under 12) and had a wonderful time. Breakfast included, it kept both adults and children happy. Hotel is convenient to Durham cathedral, shopping and all of the usual Durham haunts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offthewalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel is situated right in the heart of Durham, perfect for all local amenities. There is no shortage of restaurants and bars to choose from. Parking is available in the car park behind, we paid £15 for 48 hours. The room was perfect, staff were friendly and helpful and we would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We were in room 7. Bottom floor at the back. There was no noise disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wee_Clare_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We've stayed in three different Premier Inns during the past month and this one is certainly the best. It's a great venue close to the heart of the city, theatre and the waterfront - if you can find it! Perhaps our Satnav was having a bad day but we went up and down the same road three times before we managed to find the place. The instructions e-mailed to us by the hotel didn't help much either and that must be a priority for the management. Issue a decent map and clearer instructions for travellers. That having been said, we could not fault the service we received - from the delightful young waitress who advised us to 'fill yer boots' when we arrived for breakfast to the delightful duty manager for whom nothing was too much trouble.. For the record, she's called Chris Ward and Premier would do well to treasure her. She's worth her weight in gold. We'd also recommend accepting the dinner-breakfast package if you don't feel like venturing into the city. It's good value for money though your choice is restricted to certain dishes. Why it isn't possible to buy an upgrade to cover every item on the menu is beyond me.

Room Tip: Not so much a room as a cheaper stay. Get the hotel to stamp your parking ticket from the next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashovercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
443 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Address: Freemans place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £53 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing