We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is second to none” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location is second to none”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for a night after having an afternoon in Durham. The location of this hotel is slap bang in the middle of the bars however not so close that its noisey! The room was really nice, lovely big bed and its all very clean. Breakfast was on until late which was very handy for a sleep in. My only complaint is that the bed was two single mattress's pushed together rather than just one which created a ridge in the middle. Overall would stay again!

Helpful?
Thank LottyPops
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    493
    107
    24
    21
See reviews for
327
629
97
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of Durham with 2 car parks minutes form the door. The hotel staff are excellent and the rooms are large and very modern. Everything about the rooms is excellent, they are clean, warm and comfortable with large flat screen tv with superb picture quality. The restaurant was pleasant and food reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooler, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

If you are thinking about a short stay in a small(ish) city, head for Durham.
I was extremely impressed even though I know Durham quite well having worked in the area (based in Newcastle) for many years, but this was the first time we had stayed there. The weather helped. It was February and the south was in turmoil with the floods etc and this did make the River Wear quite dramatic. The city is small enough to walk all over and has lots of "things to do".
If you want to stay in the centre then the Premier Inn City Centre Hotel is the place to book. Cheap for City Centre hotels. Amazing value for money. Good parking with a multi-storey behind for longer stays and a public one opposite the reception for an overnight stay. The staff at the hotel were great and despite an extremely large building construction immediately opposite, the triple glazing worked a treat. To be honest it was a Sunday night that we stayed so maybe it might be slightly more busy mid-week but that's only temporary. .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaktfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a really great hotel to stay in in the centre of Durham. We have stayed twice in six weeks and we had a great experience both times. First of all it's in a great location. It's easy to find, at least on foot, and is only 10 minutes walk from the train station. Everything in Durham centre itself is within walking distance from it. The staff are all lovely. The hotel is very clean and everything in there looks new. The rooms are a good size and well furnished. The bed is comfy and you get a choice of pillows. The breakfast is very good and the dinner menu was well-priced and offered a good range of options. There's a bar and Costa coffee for sale, too. And to top it off, the price is very low, especially if you book well ahead.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60degreesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Very convenient for city centre and good value for money when we stayed. Staff were helpful and the range of food at breakfast is good value for money. Size of bedroom and the bed was excellent. Must see Oriental Museum.


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomhanks776616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice and clean. Rooms were spacious, lovely tv and comfy bed. Friendly and helpful staff. Location brilliant for the centre and quiet inside and out of the hotel. First time staying overnight in Durham and will be sure to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemma2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

A group of us went for a weekend with the main focus being a walk up the beautiful waterfalls - High Fore was spectacular! We decided to stay in Durham and were very pleased with our choice. Plenty of decent beer for the Chaps and a Champagne bar for the ladies!. We ate out at two restaurants and were pleased with both.
TOOK A WALK UP TO THE CATHEDRAL ON SUNDAY AND IT WAS "AWESOME" AS OUR AMERICAN FRIENDS WOULD SAY!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Property: Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing