We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something extra from a Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

You can't go wrong with a new build Premier Inn if you can live without an ironing board in every room, biscuits or shower caps. This one in my view is a great Premier Inn. Good location by the river and shops and bars but it also has it's own bar and restaurant. I had a fantastic gourmet burger and my colleague had a pizza - they were good and much better than we expected. Just the right choice of wines and beers too. Breakfast was also on their own restaurant and hit the spot. One thing that stood out- really friendly staff. Good value for money if you want a Durham trip and like comfort over luxury. Big car parks also nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 973 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just a one night stay in Durham so we needed to be close to the city centre. This Premier Inn fitted the bill exactly. A short walk ( downhill - a lot of steps) from the station and practically in the centre of every thing you could need. On checking in we found the staff exceptionally helpful and they offered a lot of useful advice and ensured we had a twin room, even though a double had been reserved. The rooms we had were very clean and just right for our stay. The only issue we had was with one of our rooms (on the 1st floor at the front of hotel) suffered an extreme amount of noise in the early hours of Sunday morning . It would appear that people congregate here to wait for taxis... The receptionist on checkout was again very helpful and refunded the cost of our room due to the noise. Everything else was brilliant and it was such a shame that something the hotel has no control over spoilt our sleep. My friends on the 4th floor had no such problems. I would stay here again though ... Just request a room on a higher floor and on the quiet side . Please don't let this put you off ... Just be prepared.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mabel-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Excellent stay, staff were outstanding. Very polite and helpful. Car parking wasn't brill. Multi storey not easy to get out of and the other available car park meant having to move the car a couple of times to re-issue a ticket.
Good, clean hotel, good value, especially if visiting students at the university.
A bit loud at night, due to it being surrounded by a few night bars and restaurants, but this didn't cause too many issues. Not too far from the centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had a two night stay at this centrally located hotel
On arrival was welcomed by friendly staff especially manageress Chris
Took the option of the meal deal and enjoyed both dinner and healthy breakfast

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great location in Durham city centre good clean rooms well kited out with air con and free view and free wifi lovely staff very happy to help and the food is spot on would stay agin knowing it would be just as good

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This hotel is as good as the other reviewers have said it is. A useful tip in using the car park beside the hotel is when you drive in you are automatically directed to floor 2', when you reach there follow the signs to the exit and go down to the entry level which is floor 1' from here you can go straight out the door and you arrive at the side of the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel overlooking the neighbouring restaurants and cinem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for a night after having an afternoon in Durham. The location of this hotel is slap bang in the middle of the bars however not so close that its noisey! The room was really nice, lovely big bed and its all very clean. Breakfast was on until late which was very handy for a sleep in. My only complaint is that the bed was two single mattress's pushed together rather than just one which created a ridge in the middle. Overall would stay again!

Thank LottyPops
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,137 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
441 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Address: Freemans place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £54 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing