We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Headingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently one if the better premier inns bit awkward to get to car park late at night so worth calling ahead get verbal directions. Checked in late and had food late too but all the time greeted and served by friendly chatty staff. Would stay again plus slept ok too and decent TVs in room too a big plus! Still poor wifi and chargeable so hope that happens one day free and a good speed! Would use premiers more often if wifi included.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RobLH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    497
    110
    24
    21
See reviews for
333
635
97
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a comfortable, affordable hotel near to the city centre so handy for shopping or visiting the cathedral and castle. The rooms are comfortable and you are guaranteed a good night sleep or you get your money back. The staff are very friendly and do what they can to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Good location and pleasant staff. Rooms well appointed and comfortable. Difficult to find fault. The one tip to bear in mind? Get a room facing the leisure centre. The rest (facing the complex of bars and restaurants) can be noisier at night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
174 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here one night whilst attending an event at the Gala Theatre. Hotel is very well located for the theatre and also for the City. The hotel doesn't have its own car park but there is a multi - storey close by and another car park a little down the road. The hotel emailed parking instructions
which were clear and helpful.
The staff were friendly and obliging. The hotel is clean, was quiet at night with a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJHNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here just for one night. It is so convenient for the station and the City centre - great when you're slightly on the mature side (although walking back to the station was a different matter) !! The staff were very friendly and helpful. My friend and I were on the 4th floor and had no issue with noise, although friends on the 1st floor did - we were refunded for that though which was excellent. Next time we would all ask for 4th floor rooms on the quieter side. However, both rooms were spotless and ideal for this kind of quick weekend visit. Lovely big tv to end the night with TOTP2 disco edition!!! All in all perfect place for a perfect weekend.

Room Tip: 4th floor on the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed for three nights and were very happy with the service we received. The hotel is very well kept. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. We didn't experience any noise at all which was pleasing as we were travelling with a young child.The location is good as it is a short walk into the market square. We had a buggy and used the car park lift to get up to street level!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grundisburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

You can't go wrong with a new build Premier Inn if you can live without an ironing board in every room, biscuits or shower caps. This one in my view is a great Premier Inn. Good location by the river and shops and bars but it also has it's own bar and restaurant. I had a fantastic gourmet burger and my colleague had a pizza - they were good and much better than we expected. Just the right choice of wines and beers too. Breakfast was also on their own restaurant and hit the spot. One thing that stood out- really friendly staff. Good value for money if you want a Durham trip and like comfort over luxury. Big car parks also nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,975 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Property: Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Premier Inn, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing