We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay in Durham” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
916 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Durham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Very good location with just a short walk to get into the old part of town and the cathedral. The hotel seemed quite new. Friendly receptionists. Comfortable bed and a very good price. The parking house next door was OK but it was difficult to find a lift there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    493
    107
    24
    21
See reviews for
327
628
97
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Traveling to Northumberland from down south, we decided to break up our journey with an overnight stay in Durham. You can't (usually) go wrong with a Premier Inn and this is one of the best I've stayed in. It was part of what seemed to be a quite new development down by the river, a 10 minute walk from the city centre, around 15 minutes from the cathedral and castle.

Car parking was very straightforward - I'd received an info email the day before arrival which was really helpful. Parking is available for a very reasonably £7.70 for 24 hours in the small multi-story right behind the hotel. We received an incredibly warm welcome along with a map of the city centre. The room was modern, comfortable, well-lit and quiet - we didn't hear a peep from neighbouring rooms. I had the full English buffet breakfast (£8.95) and was really impressed. Durham is small and we feel we saw most of it - but if we were to return I'm sure we'd stay here again, particularly considering the price.

One tip - if the weather is nice in the evening, turn right out of the hotel and take the footbridge across the river, then turn left and follow the bank along. In around 10 minutes you're in a beautifully quiet spot with spectacular sunset views up to the castle and cathedral. Well worth a look!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent one night at the Premier Inn in Durham. The website quoted 72 GBP, which *seemed* like a good deal when we found it online as most B&Bs in the area were about 90 GBP. *BUT* there are all of the add ons ... if you book on line, you have to pay via credit card, which incurs an additional fee. Wifi costs 3 pounds. Parking is nearly 8 pounds and breakfast was 10 pounds (?). Well, you get the idea ... it adds up and you're back to the price of a B&B, but without the personalized service. Another comment is there are several clubs nearby and you hear them. (It was a Thursday night.) Finally, if you walk into the hotel and ask for the internet rate they "cannot" give it to you. We actually connected to wifi (30 minutes free! whee!) and booked it in the lobby, which seems ridiculous.

That said, we really liked Durham. The town itself was a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bk_in_chgo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

First visit to this hotel, good value for money. Accommodated young family well, for same price as a single. Room too hot first night, but hotel refunded happily when I asked. Overall, good experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Grea comfort, might experience outside noise from nearby pubs. Food was excellent, staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was lovely, very clean. Car park was nearby and very secure. The premier inn is very close to all the local amenities, all within walking distance.



  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emyr785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottish borders
Level Contributor
225 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We understood that this hotel was a mile from the city centre and were very pleasantly surprised to walk to the centre within 10 minutes! Excellent location despite the building work opposite the hotel. Our room was a good size, had a very comfy bed, effective aircon, and was very quiet.
The self-service breakfast was very tasty with good choices of hot and cold food, fruit, juices and tea/coffee. The restaurant area is very smart, the seats are comfortable and the waiting staff extremely pleasant and helpful.
This is certainly a great place for a few nights in Durham and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romagScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights. We stay regularly at Premier Inns because the are consistently good value - this one was no exception.

When booking, I accidentally booked 2 twin rooms when we really needed a double and a family. Staff were very helpful in accommodating the change, even giving us adjoining rooms.

The hotel is easily accessible in the centre of Durham, with reasonably priced parking at the adjacent multi storey. Lots of stuff to see and do nearby, with eating and drinking places to hand.

The hotel has everything you'd expect from the brand, clean, functional, decent-sized rooms and bathrooms.

We ate at the restaurant and it proved very good value. Breakfasts good too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawklord_pxr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Property: Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing