We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Good central location with reasonable car parking next to the hotel. Very good check-in and given a room on the 4th floor overlooking the sports centre. The room was nice, clean and spacious. Just outside the hotel was some steep steps going up to where the bars and restaurants are located. All very handy.
A good nights sleep was followed by an excellent breakfast which was served up until 1130. Great
following a late Saturday night out.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    497
    110
    24
    21
See reviews for
333
635
97
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great location and lovely rooms but do take ear plugs! Not sure if it was the sound of a generator or boiler that woke me at 3am but it was very loud - despite the fact I'd put in ear plugs so I wouldn't hear the shrieks of late night / early morning revellers outside!

Thermostat in room said 16 degrees but it must have been broken as the room was very hot !

I like the Premier Inn chain though so it wouldn't put me off trying another one.

Room Tip: Avoid room 126!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shades100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I chose the Radisson Blu in Durham for my one night stop over in Durham but alas you had to book a minimum of 2 nights. The next nearest hotel to where I was going was the Premier Inn. I walked in and was greeted warmly. The receptionist was organised and welcoming. She explained all that I needed to know and off I went to my room. It was much bigger than I had imagined, clean and tidy. Bathroom was also very clean. Bath was lovely size to relax in. Tea and coffee etc were supplied. Hair dryer, TV was a flat screen Samsung. Wifi was £3 for 24 hours. There was a small Thyme restaurant on site but I walked into the town (City). I was pleasantly surprised. Champagne bar, lots of restaurants etc all within 3 mins walk. I ordered the Continental breakfast for the morning. My colleague had the full English. I had plenty, crumpets, breads, pastries, yoghurts, fresh fruits , help yourself to tea, coffees, fruits juices. Not bad for £6.75. The only thing I missed was an iron but I'm sure they would have supplied one if I had asked. I will be stopping again next time I go to Durham and hopefully trying the Champagne bar!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Often stay at this hotel on business and all aspects are fab, the staff are so friendly and helpful, cant do enough for you. The menu is limited, but what they do, they do well.

The rooms are really clean and have been recently refurbished, bigger tvs and a wider choice of channels. The hotel is in a prime location for the centre of durham, with great bars and restaurants in walking distance.

Special mention the the wonderful lady who serves breakfast, who is wonderful. Have also stayed at the marriott and radisson in durham, but given a choice always go back to the premier inn!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is situated in an ideal location next to the river and easy walking distance for all Durham city attractions.
Less than a minutes walk to Millennium square which hosts many bars and restaurants that cater for all tastes and budgets. Even though the hotel is next to the lively nightlife area you don't hear any noise what so ever when your in the hotel.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel does not have its own car park but there is a pay and display car park directly opposite for about £6 per day.
We will definitely be visiting Durham again and definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that overlooks the river!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gow67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

great central location,Very fast and easy check in. Rooms were basic but very clean, good value for money. There are several Bars and Restaraunts near by,We really enjoyed the Champagne bar . I would definatly recommend this hotel for its Central Location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teesside
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the Premier Inn for one night after a visit to the cathedral to see the Animotion show.
We were allocated a large room, fully equipped for the disabled, overlooking the leisure centre.
The room had everything we needed - and more. A large screen tv, tea & coffee, hairdryer, as many mirrors and electrical sockets as you could wish for and the biggest bed I've ever seen - Goldilocks and all the three bears could have fitted in it. The large bathroom was a wetroom and set up with all safety facilities for the disabled
The full English breakfast was delicious, with the offer to eat as much as you wanted. It was a buffet service with choice of eggs being cooked to order so as to be as fresh as possible.
We both had a good night's sleep, better than at home - walking up and down the hills, as well as the steps to the hotel (maybe a problem for less able people) probably helped - although the bed was the 'icing on the cake'
I would, without hesitation, recommend the hotel and would stay here again if visiting Durham -o it is in a good location for exploring the city.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littleeve8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Property: Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing