We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had 4 nights stay at this central durham hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had 4 nights stay at this central durham hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we were lucky with the sunshine,the hotel is clean and we had breakfast included, the room was good had problem with air con,which was i think on its last legs could have more draught through our window but could only open about 6 ins the restricters stopped opening any further ,health and safety!!!!!! great, a building site right outside the hotel spoiled our view of the river wear,near by the slug and lettuce was good for the 2 evening meals with excellent service and plenty of retail just a short walk,the river is nice for a walk and picnic the cathedral and castle are worth seeing. the hotel staff gave excellent friendly service,the only gripe were the hard mattress which spoilt our sleep and yes we were refunded 2 nights room rate with their promise of a good nights sleep guarantee charter but your buyers need to re think their puchase of these hard mattresses.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room which are on the 3rd and 4th floor also avoids some building site noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    502
    113
    25
    21
See reviews for
334
650
98
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arthog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Premier Inn model for hotels is a guarantee of comfort, cleanliness and professionalism. The Premier Inn in Durham City Centre is no exception and I would definitely use it again when visiting this beautiful city. The hotel itself is excellently situated to explore the whole city on foot. It is also near the railway station which has good links.

Usually I have no criticisms at all of the Premier Inn stays I have had in the past; sadly this time I have although it is only a small gripe. My husband and I are vegetarian and we have found that the Thyme Restaurants in Premier Inns are fine for an evening meal. In Durham however they are trialling a new and reduced menu. Two dishes that have been dropped are the Caesar Salad and the vegetarian pasta. A staff member apologetically told us that they did not even do the side salad anymore. I think that this menu reduction is unfortunate and will lose the chain money and custom. As it was we ate out on two of the three nights of our stay and Durham has plenty of really good restaurants, for example, the Spice Lounge which is a five minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor if you want to open your windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

intolerable night time Friday and Saturday due to close access to night bars steps to these were almost next to bedrooms at front on ground floors. taxi pick up point drunk people knocking on windows etc

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

me and 1 friend stayed the night for her birthday. after been round durham to sae on taxi faire, we arried and had a warm welcome we then went to our room wich was clean and tiday and well presented. I will stay again the noise level can be loud due to been below a pub but they cant help that

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Would definitely give the stay 10 out 10, All the staff were friendly and helpful, they couldn't do enough for you.
The rooms were clean , there was a hair dryer, also a kettle in the room, already booked for a few more stays



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great friendly staff. Lovely clean rooms and efficient showers. Stay slightly marred by inefficient air con on very warm nights and window opening not an option due to noise from Slug and Lettuce revellers. Hotel in ideal location to walk to historic parts of the city.



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonspdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

An overnight stop that was well worth it. Friendly staff and a great location from which to explore the city. The room was good and the whole stay was value for the money. The Premier Inn is a go to chain for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobH181799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Property: Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing